Top Ten Underrated Book Authors

Top Ten Underrated Book Authors (and

series/books)

50ab0-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.


I actually have a problem with remembering author names. Therefore, to make this easier for me, I will amend the “underrated author in respective genre” to “underrated author/book anything book related”. This list will probably have a lot of middle grade because I have only recently started reading YA (think like half a year ago) and I haven’t read nearly enough to have encountered many underrated YA authors. Also, “top underrated authors” suggests that I’d have to have read many many works by each author. Obviously, I’m just going to toss that out the window.

Also, these authors might not be “underrated” but I have picked them because I haven’t heard about them a lot online and they aren’t popular where I live. And now, in no particular order………

1. The Testing Series – Joelle Charbonneau

I don’t remember how I got around to picking up this book. I just remember that it was a better version of The Hunger Games. It’s so good like words can’t even express how great it was. The Testing made my heart pound and my entire body to shake. Charbonneau does a fantastic job at building up the suspense in this book, a type of suspense that I had never before felt in my entire reading career (is that even a thing?). Even better, the sequel doesn’t suffer from second book syndrome. I haven’t gone around to book three, but I will before the year is over.

2. Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta

I love her writing. I loved Jellicoe Road. It’s a lot better than a lot of mainstream YA nowadays and I know a lot of people like this book, but it deserves even more publicity than what it already has. Marchetta is also on my list of authors to read more of. I’m going to read her book Saving Francesca super soon and I’m super excited about it. I like her books more than I like John Green’s (which isn’t saying much to be honest). And yes, I know that I’ve only mentioned this book like on three other posts already. The book is just fabulous. Go read it.

3. I Hunt Killers – Barry Lyga

Just Barry Lyga in general. This book isn’t really “underrated” where I live seeing as it was put on the list for the state award/nomination or something like that but the fact remains that I haven’t seen or heard of many people that have read this book and it’s something that needs to be changed now. They’re making a TV show off it but I haven’t heard a lot of hype about it. The third book just came out and I really need to get a copy. Just keep in mind that this series is extremely gory and very very gritty. Barry Lyga’s Hero Type was also good.

4. The Unwanteds Series – Lisa McMann

Okay this series is probably more accurately classified as Middle Grade but I absolutely loved this series when it first came out. I think I was probably the first person at my school to read it and from there, a lot of kids picked it up. It’s not popular outside of my school though. This series revolves around a dystopian world where creativity is regarded as useless. People showing creative skills are exterminated. Twin brothers Alex and Aaron Stowe have reached an age where their positions in society will be decided. Alex has always had a passion for art and of course, does not get picked to attend the elite University for children that are trained to become government leaders.

Okay my summary sucks but it’s better than it sounds.

5. Matthew J. Kirby

This guy is a fantastical author. My first encounter with his books was in fourth (?) grade when I bought a copy of his book The Clockwork Three. Great writing and one of the books that fed my want for historical fiction at the time. A few years later, I read Icefall, another amazing book about Norse mythology that is dreadfully under appreciated. If it helps make you read it, it won an Edgar award at one point. He has a penchant for writing great historical fiction books. So far, I’ve only read these two books and I really need to take the time to read his other ones.

6. Julia Golding

Julia Golding has penned a lot of different types of books. She has a Greek mythology series titled the Companion Quartet which was pretty good but my favorite books by her are definitely Dragonfly and it’s companion novel The Glass Swallow. While her other books might be a bit juvenile, this series is definitely not. It’s romance-y and historical-y and beautiful. Her books were one of my biggest book obsession at one point.

7. Wendy Mass

Another one of my obsessions. Her books are amazing and extremely well written. Yes, they are catered to a younger audience, but they are still very enjoyable. I suggest reading The Candymakers, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life, A Mango-Shaped Space, and Every Soul a Star. If you’re an older reader, I’d suggest you to refrain from reading her Willow-Falls series. They are, for the most part, written for a much much younger audience (with the exception of Finally and 13 Gifts). If you don’t mind though, I’d recommend you read them. Finally is exceptionally funny.

8. Libba Bray

Libba Bray is fab. She’s simply amazing. She wrote The Diviners, one of my all time favorite books and Beauty Queens, a satirical beauty pageant book that had me cracking up every page. She’s also written the very popular Gemma Doyle series which I have not read yet but I will read sometime in the next few weeks because I have the first book checked out from the library. But The Diviners is evidence enough of her amazing writing. And yeah, I realize she’s probably not underrated nationwide, but I’ve seen a total of two other people read a book by her where I live.

I tried to get ten. I got eight. Close enough.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

