We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Publish Date: May 13th, 2014

Length: 227 pages

Genre: Contemporary, YA, Mystery

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.


Review

Unimpressed. Again.

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting as much. I’ve been busy and I have been picking less than stellar books to read. This review is also going to be really short because of the circumstances of reading this book.

Anyways, I was really excited to pick up We Were Liars after hearing all about the twist in the end and how you had to go in not knowing anything. I did go in not knowing anything. I actually thought it was a murder mystery and that the characters were all lying to each other to cover it up or something like that. FYI, it was not that whatsoever.

I do agree that you should go in not knowing too much about the circumstances. It doesn’t really affect anything that much to be honest seeing as most of the book is pretty much your average rich-girl summer contemporary. If you want a summary though….

(Highlight to read)

Cadence is rich and a Sinclair. She vacations every summer with her cousins and one summer, something happens that results in a mystery that she must uncover herself.

Yeah that pretty much encompasses the story.

Overall I found We Were Liars to be really slow. Little hints are dropped here and there but nothing really happens until the end when it’s all kinda dumped on you in two chapters. The twist is pretty surprising but it wasn’t really something that affected me emotionally which was most likely due to the fact that I didn’t really relate with any of the characters. Cadence was a little hard to relate to seeing as she’s rich and is suffering from some ailment. I didn’t like the voice that Lockhart used to portray Cadence. I found it dry and a little pretentious. I wasn’t drawn in by it like I’ve heard happen to other readers.

Maybe it was just the characters I didn’t like.

I can’t say that I liked any of the four Liars or their story. They did lie and such but their characters weren’t really to my liking. I didn’t find any of them likable, not Gat, Johnny, Mirren, or Cadence. Least of all Cadence.

The entire story was kind of shallow up until the end. It felt as if the characters were all masquerading as deep people with a distaste of their parents and the lifestyle of their family.

Yeah I just didn’t enjoy this one. I expected the story to have more substance and plot than it did.

Review is short because again, I agree that you should go in knowing as little as possible because it makes the ending more uh surprising? On top of that, I really don’t have much to say about this book.

2/5 Stars

2 comments

Leave a Reply

