Everything Leads to You – Nina LaCour

Everything Leads to You

Everything Leads to YouAuthor: Nina LaCour

Publish Date: May 15th, 2014

Number of Pages: 307

Genre: YA, Contemporary, LGBTQ, Romance

A love letter to the craft and romance of film and fate in front of—and behind—the camera from the award-winning author of Hold Still.

A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.

Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.


Review

This would have been posted much earlier if WordPress hadn’t erased my entire review when I went to save it. *shakes fist at computer*

Can I just say that I love the cover of this book? I love the font and the pale pink color. I love how summery it looks. Even though it’s such a girly color, I don’t feel like I’m going to read something that is insufferably shallow. One thing that I did find a little misleading is that for the majority of the book, I thought the girl on the cover was Emi. After all, Emi is the main character right? Imagine my surprise when I learn that Emi isn’t completely Caucasian, but instead, mixed. (Seriously, authors need to slip these details into the book earlier so I’m not making completely incorrect assumptions). I read on until I read a tidbit about how Ava’s hair comes out of her bun and grazes her neck. So now, I’m assuming that the girl on the cover is Ava.

Beautiful cover aside, Everything Leads to You was a book different from the bajillion other contemporaries I’ve read. It focused on Emi, a girl with a unique job as a set designer. At the beginning of the book, her brother leaves, giving her and her friend Charlotte his apartment until he returns. With the one requirement being that something truly epic has to happen within the apartment, the two girls embark on a journey to find the daughter of Clyde Jones. Now it sounds kind of boring, but it actually wasn’t too bad. I enjoyed reading about how she put together the sets and about the different things they did to find Clyde’s granddaughter. But I did think that the characterization was a little lacking. Charlotte still feels like a blank piece of paper. She’s organized and extremely loyal, but what other traits does she have? Charlotte read like a placeholder. She didn’t ever feel like she was an important aspect of the plot. There was the occasional moment where Emi would mention how Charlotte disapproved of her ex-girlfriend, Morgan, but Charlotte herself was a forgettable character.

To be quite honest, I’m not too sure what my final say on the plot should be. It’s extremely boring at times. I mean, the book feels like a daily narrative of Emi’s life over that particular summer and her summer wasn’t very interesting. It’s a story of how Emi fell in love and learned more about people. She goes through a number of realizations about her job, her friends, and her family and this change of character is really well developed.

Something I really enjoyed about this book was the fact that the homosexuality elements were treated as if they were a given. In some other LGBTQ books, a character’s sexuality is often repeated innumerable times, as if the character feels the need to tell you every few pages that they like a certain gender. In this case, it wasn’t reaffirmed so many times. She was lesbian. So what? It’s not as if it’s much different from a straight relationship. I liked that her sexuality didn’t take the attention off of the plot.

While I’m on the topic of relationships, the romance in this book was extremely believable. While I didn’t really like the way that Emi obsessed over Ava, the way that the two eventually got together was something that I liked. It was evident by the end of the novel that Emi had changed. She’d realized something about love and the right way to begin a relationship after her toxic one with Morgan.

All-in-all, Everything Leads to You, was not terrible, but it has the possibility of being quickly forgotten.

3/5 Stars

One comment

Leave a Reply

