Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To

Read

50ab0-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.


The description said that “difficult to read” could be anything from the subject matter to gore so I’ll probably include all of that and everything in-between. Most will probably be books that bored me to death or caused me to become insanely enraged by the book’s plot and characters. And if I’m half-asleep or blinded with rage, it’s kind of hard to read a book amiright?

1. The Merciless by Danielle Vega

I haven’t even read this book in it’s entirety but I KNOW that I would be cringing and squinting at the pages out of sheer disgust. I flipped through this at Joseph Beth and ohmydearlord it was so disgusting. The page I happened to land on was one where the characters were cutting off someone’s fingers. Disgusting. Nasty. Just ewwwwww. I’m pretty sure my facial expressions scared people away.

(I’m probably still going to read it though)

2. The Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Anybody who has been following my blog knows that I was unable to finish this book. Tessa made reading the book difficult because every time she spoke, I wanted to throw the book across the room.

3. The Laura Ingalls Wilder Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

3rd grade. Oh man, 3rd grade. My teacher recommended this series to me and I got through two books before giving up. I couldn’t stand reading another chapter about wheat and cabin houses.

4. The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

This book is, by far, my least favorite out of all of the PJO/HOO books. It took me a record 1-2 months to finish it and once I was done, I wasn’t gonna ever try to reread it. I remember wading through lots of whiny characters, characters that were completely different, and lots and lots of filler plot. THIS BOOK, is the reason that I hate Piper.

5. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of The Dawn Treader
by C.S. Lewis

It’s not even the series. I just genuinely had a difficult time reading this book in the series. I loved the first few books up until this one. This book was a snooze-fest. I’ve tried reading it at least five times afterwards before I finally just gave up. I never finished the series. I am ashamed to admit that I saw the movie before reading it.

6. Books where people cheat on each other

I hate reading anything with cheating in it. This is the reason that I stayed away from Anna and the French Kiss for years. The synopsis just sounds like Anna is going to make Etienne cheat on his girlfriend! It’s a personal thing because I don’t really like reading a book where the characters just lie to each other. Maybe it’s the reason I didn’t like We Were Liars.

7. The Maximum Ride Series by James Patterson

I think I read up until the book before Nevermore. I don’t remember. This entire series was a trainwreck. There is literally no plot so recalling important events is extremely difficult. You read the words “roundhouse kick” at least 12439783529480928 times before one book is over and then you get to hear about how Max is pining over her on-and-off again boyfriend. It’s hard to remember what’s going on and it’s even harder to stay engrossed in a book where a bunch of nothing happens.

8. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

I. HATED. THIS. BOOK. SO. MUCH. The book itself was a fairly easy read but what made it hard to read was the stupidity of Tally. She was a compulsive liar (I hate compulsive liars) and she never ever thought through anything she did. I wanted to throw this book across the room (much like I wanted to do with The Clockwork Angel) when I was reading it but I settled for telling everybody in my class to avoid reading it during a book report.

9. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent is the reason that I never got to Allegiant. Divergent was okay, good enough to continue reading, but when Insurgent came out and I read it, I didn’t bother checking out Allegiant. One reason was that I had been spoiled already. The other reason was because Insurgent was so ridiculously boring. I don’t remember finishing Insurgent or anything that even happened in it.

10. Every Day by David Levithan

This book gave me a royal headache. I praised the book gods that I was finally done reading it. The plot is simply boring and A is out of his mind. What normal guy would throw away all of his rational though processes for a girl he literally just saw? It’s repetitive and boring and some of things that A did were really irrational.

4 comments

  1. It’s a great idea but I personally felt that Levithan could have done so much more with it. It gets repetitive really fast. The whole book is just A (main character) going into different peoples bodies, forgetting all of his morals and going to see the girl he likes. It’s just the plot execution.

    Like

  2. Thanks! Books are expensive in Malaysia so perhaps I should borrow it from my friend. I borrowed The Fault in Our Stars from her and I didn’t actually cry whilst reading the book (when I was told to carry a box of tissue when I read the book). So if Every Day is similar to TFIOS, I might not enjoy it as much as my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

