Songs and Books

Songs and Books

I don’t know how many of you guys experience this too, but sometimes when I read a book, I end up associating a song with that book. It doesn’t matter if the lyrics end up matching or not, I will have forever attached those two together. And a lot of the times, I end up enjoying it because it either makes my visualization of the scene more dramatic or it makes it really funny.

I know I’m not the only person who has done this. One of the books  I really really want to read is called Since You’ve Been Gone. Sounds familiar? Yeah I’ve seen a large number of bloggers associate that book with Kelly Clarkson’s song “Since You’ve Been Gone” and that includes me. It doesn’t matter if the book has to do with losing a lover, it’s all been linked together.

Recently, I’ve read The Monstrumologist (and I know that all of you guys know this) and I’ve been associating the song “Monster” by Skillet with the book. The lyrics have absolutely NOTHING to do with anything in the book so it doesn’t really match, but again, it’s just one of those surface links because at no point during the book does Dr. Warthrop or any of the other characters say that they feel like a monster.

Another example. In 8th grade, I had to do a group classics project and one of my lovely friends decided that we should read Atlas Shrugged (FYI NEVER READ ATLAS SHRUGGED IF YOU ONLY HAVE A MONTH TO FINISH THE PROJECT). One of the assignments was to use songs to represent emotions that the individual characters all felt. One of the tracks we picked was “Me Without You (All I Ever Wanted)” by All Time Low. And now, any time I hear that song, I am reminded of Atlas Shrugged and the painful relationship between Francisco and Dagny. Guys, just imagine two adults dramatically being separated with punk rock music in the background. It’s kind of awkward but also kind of funny XD

I like the fact that books can be linked to anything whether it be music or life experiences, but I really like that a single song can trigger a memory of a book (Or if you’re a normal person, an actual memory).

Leave a Reply

