[Review] Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy

Author: Richelle Mead

Series: Vampire Academy #1

Publication Date: January 1st, 2007

Publisher: Razorbill

Number of Pages: 336

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, YA

Source: Library

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Summary

Prepare to be Tested.
The story that kicked off the international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series is NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE.
Hit Theaters February 7th, 2014!
St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger. . . .
Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.


Review

Not your typical vampire romance novel.

Vampire Academy was not anything like Twilight even if the covers do make the book come off as somewhat shallow. The folklore and world-building is sufficient enough to say the least. There are dhampires, vampires, morois, and no they are not different names of clans. They are each a different “species” of vampire. I really liked the setting and background of the novel. It’s very very unique.

I don’t know if this was just me… but I felt like there was a fair amount of info-dumping in the first few chapters and even then, I was still very confused on what the difference between each vampire species was. Uh what’s a Strigoi? Errr a moroi? What? Much of the differences and history is told in the form of Rose’s descriptions and I ended up skimming it because it was honestly kind of of boring.

(Which might be why I was confused)

But ugh. Oh my freaking god. I really wanted to shoot Rose. She’s highly hypocritical and is always acting like she is the boss of Lissa. She interferes where it isn’t necessary and always is too quick to judge others. I guess you could say she is vampire-racist in this book. But she acts slutty and then calls out other girls for acting that way. She has no respect for her body, taking pride in the fact that all of the guys want to have sex with her. She was, in short, a very unlikable character to me. Some people say that they like how confident and assertive she is but I didn’t really get that feeling from. Rose was too much and reminded me of your typical slutty girl. Perhaps it’s planned this way to allow character development in the later novels?

On the other hand, Lissa is so spineless for most of the book. I didn’t like how she let Rose walk all over her.

To be honest, I didn’t really like any of the characters besides Dmitri and even then, it’s not like I love him.

However, the book is highly suspenseful in the regards that enough is held back to pique my curiosity. I know what these vampires are and what they do. I kind of know the background of the main conflict. But what exactly will it lead to? How are Rose and Lissa involved in any way? While I did not like some parts of the novel, I’m curious to see what will happen next.

The romance is awk. I can sort of see how they have chemistry if I squint really hard. It feels more like a mutual admiration. Rose and Dmitri both respect each other but they don’t really have a “oh I really like you” feel yet. Hopefully it’s something resolved in book two.

 I’m just hoping that all of the problems I had with the first novel are fixed in the second book. After hearing all of the hype and being told to read this novel x number of times, I’m willing to give the series another try with the sequel. The idea and premise of this series is really good and I would hate it if I didn’t end up liking it.

2/5 Stars

4 comments

  1. I read the book a few months back and agree with you completely! After all of the hype, it just came through kind of BLAH to me, especially the characters. I’m not even sure I want to try the second book though…

    Like

  2. I hate it when I’m keen on a book and then it flops for me. It’s sooo frustrating. >_< I haven't read VA but I do want to because, yes! Everyone raves about it! I'm not opposed to Twilight at all (I just thought it was a little bland) but I don't tend to gravitate towards vampires. Still, the mythology aspect totally intrigues me! Aaand, there's a movie and all, so I would definitely like to try it at some point. 😉
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

