Life of a Blogger: Thanksgiving Traditions

As a Chinese-American, I never really got to experience the traditional, yearly Thanksgiving celebration. My family never really did American holidays.

So I can’t really say that I have any Thanksgiving traditions.

At most, we would attend a house party (most likely Asian) and gorge ourselves on food. We’d stay late and hang out with other people. Some years, we’d invite somebody over to eat. Last year, my parents invited a family that was moving. We had a slightly more extravagant dinner than usual, but it was still very low-key.

In other news, my birthday falls around Thanksgiving. And depending on the year, it was really nice. There was always a chance that there would be no school and I could just spend the day relaxing at home.

I’d look forward to my birthday rather than Thanksgiving because it meant I had an excuse to be lazy.

“Hey Kelly! You should do this work!”
“It’s my birthday! I don’t have to!”

Yay bad excuses!

Every Thanksgiving morning, I’d wake up and see my mom “watching” the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade on TV. It felt kind of like the 4th of July and Easter. It was a holiday, but it wasn’t really something we celebrated. Thanksgiving was more of a day where my parents sit at the table and look through store catalogs for Black Friday deals. Then we sleep. Then I wake up and see my parents coming back from the store with loads of random stuff.

The most notable random, useless object I think they’ve ever bought was the Shark Sweeper thing. Some floor steaming device to clean floors? Not sure. I just know that nobody ever uses it. I’m not sure they even know how to use it.

It’s this thing

When I was younger, I suppose I could say that a tradition was that I’d make a huge deal out of Thanksgiving. I’d wake up and be like “HAPPY THANKSGIVING MOM AND DAD!”

And they’d just kind of blankly stare at me before replying, “Oh yeah, Happy Thanksgiving to you to!”

They are much less bland in person XD

Nowadays, for me, Thanksgiving is just another day, but what Thanksgiving traditions do you celebrate?

One comment

Leave a Reply

