Top Ten 2014 Books I Read in 2014

50ab0-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

 


This is probably going to be a rehashing of all the authors and books I’ve spazzed about on the last post XD

2014 was a great reading year for me. I got back into reading, discovered YA and the book blogosphere, and started this blog! After creating this blog, I read way more than I did before, and broke my Goodreads reading goal a lot faster than I thought I would (which wasn’t too big by the way).

For books with reviews, I’ll link them. I’ll describe my initial thoughts on a book if I did not write one.


1. Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta

Amazing. Go read.

Jellicoe Road Review

2. Complicit – Stephanie Kuehn

Mindfuck of the year award.

Complicit Review

3. This Side of Salvation – Jeri Smith-Ready

Fed my enjoyment of books that talk about religion in a non-preachy manner.

My review

4. Torn Away – Jennifer Brown

Made me cry.

My review

5. The Glass Castle -Jeannette Walls

Heartbreaking and poignant. This book was all about a girl’s struggle to escape her parent’s bad parenting and her terrible economic background. It made me eternally grateful for everything my parents have done for me.

6. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

I have not reviewed this yet, but it will be in a large compilation of mini-reviews. I recently finished this for a school project and I enjoyed it a lot. I loved every detail of Scout’s childhood life and the theme that Lee tried to convey.

7. Game – Barry Lyga

This was the sequel to I Hunt Killers. Need I say more?


Since I’m struggling with naming 10 books I actually liked enough to win a spot on this list, I’ll list three books that I hated with a fiery passion.

1. The View From the Top – Hillary Frank

This is what I get for picking up a book and reading it purely based on the cover.

My angry, rant-y review on Goodreads.

2. We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

I’m the black sheep in the crowd.

We Were Liars Review

3. The Here and Now – Ann Brashares

Logic errors and an unnecessary beach trip.

The Here and Now Review

2 comments

Leave a Reply

