Life of a Blogger: Scars

Life of a Blogger is a weekly feature made by Jessie at Novel Heartbeat that allows bloggers to talk about a certain topic of their life and to let their readers to know them on a more personal level.


THESE BAAAATTLE SCAAAARDS DON’T LOOK LIKE THEIR FAAADIN’ DON’T LOOK LIKE THEIR EVER GOING AWAYYYY THEY AIN’T NEVER GONNA CHAAAANGE THESE BAAAATTLEEEE

Okay I’m done now (If you were wondering, the song is Battle Scars by Lupe Fiasco)

This post is pretty much going to be an account of all of the really dumb things I’ve done before and how clumsy I am.

And do acne scars count? Because I have a TON of those.

I don’t know if it’s socially acceptable to post pictures of my scars on the internet, so I’ll uh refrain from that.

Exhibit A: These really deep scars I have on my shins.

They used to be kind of shiny but over time, they’ve faded to this kind of light brown. How did I get them you may ask?

I fell trying to get out of the shower. I had sprained my ankle and I was way too prideful to ask for help to step over the little blocky thing. We have this slide-door cell-shaped shower and on my attempt to get out, I tripped and landed right on the metal slide. Cue excessive pain as I see these hella deep cuts on both shins that line up.

Really embarrassing if you ask me because I could have avoided it if I wasn’t so dumb about the whole thing.

Exhibit B: Brown circle on the right side of my left calf.

Around 2nd grade, I slept with my lamp on all night. I was afraid of the dark and an itsy bitsy nightlamp did not help at all. Well somehow in the middle of the night I managed to kick/punch the lampshade off of the lamp. Then I somehow managed to get the lamp onto my bed, bare bulb and all. I woke up, not to a fire, but from the intense pain I had on that spot. I had burned my leg with my lamp.

I slept with all the lights off after that.

Exhibit C: Shiny brown scar on my left ankle

I don’t really remember when this happened but I was on a scooter but I fell on my left side and skinned my left ankle really badly. It wasn’t even a big cut it was just a small section that dragged over the concrete a lot. I went home, stuck a band-aid on it and all was well. Except for the scar it left behind.

Ones that I used to have that faded away

Yin-yang shaped scar on my right elbow

I was in orchestra. I was kind of half-jogging to get my instrument. My friend in the cello section decided it would be so funny to stick her foot out and trip me. I went flying, really badly skinning my right elbow all the while thinking that it was as fun as a roller-coaster. I got up, laughing and had this bleeding, tile-burn elbow. It probably would not have scarred if my friends hadn’t been evil enough to draw the lines that showed it as a yin-yang symbol. It opened up the scabs. Plus it was in the winter so my shirts kept pulling at it. Yay scars. You can still sort of see the lumpy parts but it’s mostly gone.

Brown spot on my left hipbone

I was at a speech tournament that my school was hosting. Some idiot from another school left their phone there. I ran after them trying to get ahold of them before their school left. It was dark. I didn’t see the sudden hill. I did this epic rolling thing that resulted in a skinned hipbone because my shirt rode up. It was fun but my hipbone hurt. And then since pants are dumb and rub against the scar, it didn’t heal properly and yay a scar. This one hasn’t faded yet but I dearly hope it does because it’s just sad if tripping resulted in a scar.

Leave a Reply

