2015 New Years Resolutions

2015-01-06 23.42.11

Let’s talk 2015 goals and resolutions.

2014 passed very very quickly and I, like most people, epically failed at trying to complete 50% of my resolutions. One of my goals was to drink more water. Did I succeed?

I made it halfway there.

I also had the goal to sleep more after watching a lovely ASAPScience video that made me fear for my brain health.

Even after becoming paranoid, that goal still died.

So this year I’m going to be realistic (or as realistic as I can be).


Non-Blog-Related Resolutions

The goal to drink more water still stands. I think it’s a manageable goal that I can probably stick to better than per say, trying to make sure I sleep at 10:00 every night.

Balance out my extracurricular activities and school. I really need to spend more time studying. AP tests are coming up soon and I’m screwed if I don’t study.

Actually do my Kumon before the night it’s due. Kumon is a type of educational extracurricular where you get extra homework to “enrich” your skills in reading or math. You get a packet a day for homework and I procrastinate so much that I finish it the Sunday before they’re due. It sucks. I need to stop doing that.

Become less ugly at times. I don’t mean “ugly” as in my face and body looks ugly (although I should probably exercise more than I do). I feel like last year I acted way too carefree, so much that I came off as mean. I don’t want to become really rude (although it might just be a combination of fatigue and frustration) and I want to develop more control.

Practice piano more. I’m horrible with practice. I need to practice a lot more.

Reading and Blog-Related Resolutions

I also want to try to make my reading more varied. The contemporary to horror ratio last year was just sad. It was like 15:1. I’m going to try to even that out more.

Not only am I going to vary my reading, I also will try to catch up on all the popular YA series. The Selection books, Mara Dyer, Throne of Glass, etc, etc. I really need to be able to understand and relate to those books posts more.

Follow and comment on more blogs. This is a goal that I want to try to instill but I barely have enough time to post on my own blog so this might have to be pushed back a little.

Post on my blog more regularly and try to schedule two weeks in advance. This is going to be one of the harder ones because I don’t know if I’m going to be able to manage this one. I have a tendency to finish the post at one in the morning and then scheduling it to go up five hours later. Obviously I’m not going to try to post everyday even if I would in an ideal world. It’s just not practical for me.

Have more variety, rather than a series of blog memes. I want to set my blog apart from other ones.

Write my reviews sooner. Write them as soon as I can. Or at least write part of it asap. I’m also trying to start writing down my thoughts as I read in a notebook so I can add more quotes and specific examples.

Blog more about my life. Reading is, in a way, part of my lifestyle. I want to make my blog a piece of my personality rather than just books (even if I love them). I know that some people don’t particularly care about it, but it’s kind of like a destresser for me.

I probably have more goals this year than just this. These are just a couple of the ideas that I came up with on the spot.

One comment

Leave a Reply

