2014 Reading in Review: Superlative Awards

The first part consisted of what I considered the best of what I read in 2014. This second part is every other topic that wasn’t a “best” topic. I kind of nicknamed this the “Superlative Awards” because it reminds me of yearbook superlatives.

This year, it came out pretty tame but maybe next year I could make it a little crazier.


Cutest Couple

Awarded to the cutest, best book couple

Frank and Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone

Since You've Been Gone

I love these two. I don’t really like how they got together but I feel like they had amazing chemistry and friendship. I SHIP!


Book that Made Me the Most Mad

The book that made me spazz and rant the most, whether it be to friends or in an angry review.

Lexicon – Max Barry

Lexicon

Not because it’s a bad book but purely because I had to overanalyze it for a school project and by the end I was sick and tired of it. I didn’t really like it when I first read it (it was about a 2-star) but by the time I was done, it had whittled down to a 1-star book because of the intense amount of rereads.


Most Memorable

The books that are some of the first that come to mind.

Biggest Impact Emotionally: The Glass Castle – Jeanette Walls

The Glass Castle

I was super grateful for my parents when I finished this novel and although I didn’t cry, the book made me really think about what was important in life.

Biggest Impact Fangirl-wise: The Blood of Olympus – Rick Riordan

The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, #5)

Even if the book was mediocre, one thing has caused me enough feels to overpower everything else.

One word: Solangelo.

danisnotonfire feels
My review


Made Me Cry the Most

Self explanatory but pretty much the book that induced the most ugly tears.

Torn Away – Jennifer Brown

Torn Away

This is a rough estimate because I don’t remember how much I cried. I just know that I got very emotional reading this book because evil stepsisters.

My review


Most Kick-Ass Protagonist

The character that I rooted for and would shout “GO (INSERT NAME)” when I was reading to get some weird stares.

Victor from Vicious

Vicious

I loved Victor’s character so much in this book. He was so smart when it came to planning. I was rooting for him the whole time.

My review


Biggest WTF?

The book that confused me the most.

Midwinterblood – Marcus Sedgwick

Midwinterblood

Confusion everywhere. Until you stop and think about it at the very end. I liked it a lot even if I was confused for nearly the whole book.


Most Unexpected

Either the best unexpected or the worst unexpected book. Whichever I’d prefer to talk about.

Complicit – Stephanie Kuehn

Complicit

I think this was one of the best books I read in 2014. I definitely started it not expecting much but it began to pick up quickly.

My review


Most Overhyped

A book I began reading because of the amazing reviews only to be disappointed.

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

I hated this book. I just couldn’t understand why so many people liked it.

My review


Biggest Disappointment

Similar to the “overhype” book but usually something self-induced. I get excited or I have high hopes for a sequel. But either way I end disappointed.

Graduation Day – Joelle Charbonneau

Graduation Day (The Testing, #3)

A complete flop of a final novel. Highly disappointed because I was expecting more.

My review


Those were the 2014 Superlative Awards! I know a lot of blogs include all their 2014 book recaps in one post but I just wanted to split them up because I thought it’d make it slightly easier to understand.

Leave a Reply

