Speech Tournament (1/10/15)

Yesterday I was at a Speech tournament all day. A normal tournament is exhausting enough, but this was a swing tournament which is twice as tiring. A swing tournament is pretty much two competitions at the same place. I went home at the end and collapsed.

Now usually, I wouldn’t talk about tournaments, but yesterday, I went to watch the finals for Prose, an event where the competitors need to present a piece of prose writing. I’m planning on picking up a prose as my second event (my first event is a Duo for those who were wondering).

As I watched the finals, I noticed that most of the pieces presented were memoirs of some sort. One girl presented The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls (which really excited me because I loved that book). Someone else presented The Lost Boy, which was the sequel to A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer. Other presented memoirs included Fat Girl by Judith Moore and Amen, Amen, Amen by Abby Sher. It seems like the most common types of pieces are memoirs. It kind of disappoints me because I had been hoping that I could do a novel but it looks like the people that do the best pick memoirs. And not just regular memoirs. Really sad memoirs that require lots of angry screaming.

(But the best scream is from this)

Otherwise, I heard from a friend that someone presented Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick for their Dramatic Interpretation piece. In fact, the piece did so well that the competitor got first place in one of the tournaments. I’m probably going to pick up a Dramatic Interp as my first event next season.

Now I just feel like I should read more memoirs. It would certainly help with my Speech events.

Leave a Reply

