Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant to Read

 50ab0-toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

This post will undoubtedly be full of books that were on my top 2014 releases simply because my public library doesn’t have the book. Oh the woes of being a broke book-lover.

1. The Walled City – Ryan Graudin

I’m not entirely sure if the library has this book but I really wanted to read this one. It’s set in China and based off a real place. It sounds like it’s full of danger and the three rules are literally the best thing ever.

Run fast.

Trust no one.

Always carry your knife.

If that’s not awesome, I don’t know what is. I’m hoping and praying that the library gets this book.

2. Don’t Touch – Rachel M. Wilson

ASOIREUPOIWUJ I want this book but the library doesn’t have it. If I walked into Joseph Beth and saw this on the shelf I’d literally drop everything else and buy it.

3. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson

It has a rainbow cover. It has had a lot of hype. I want to read.

4. The Hit List – Nikki Urang

I know this has had some pretty awful reviews on Goodreads but I’m still hoping that I’ll end up liking it.

5. The Silence of Six – E.C. Myers

This book has an epic trailer (thanks to PolandsBananasBooks on Youtube) and it literally made me want the book now. It’s how a book trailer should be made. That is, exactly like a movie trailer.

6. The Young Elites – Marie Lu

Marie Lu. That is all.

Although I’m kind of disappointed with the cover. When I originally saw it, I thought it was a stand-in for the real cover but now that I know it’s the real one… well it’s not as interesting as I’d hoped it’d be.

7. The Girl With All the GiftsM.R. Carey

I heard this book was really heartbreaking. But what interests me is that it’s a different take on zombies. I don’t normally like Post-Apocalyptic books (I didn’t like World War Z) but I’m honestly curious to read this book.

8. All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

My friend gave this book a pretty high rating (which is good because he might be even more critical than I am). Plus the historical setting interested me (although it’s just another World War II book). I haven’t read enough historical fiction in the past year.

9. A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

The cover is BEAUTIFUL and there have been decent reviews. Plus the library actually has this one so I’m definitely going to try to read it this year.

10. The Kiss of Deception – Mary E. Pearson

The school library has this one but I have regrettably not checked it out yet. It’ll happen… someday.

2 comments

  1. A Thousand Pieces of You was a recent read for me, and it was fantastic. And you should definitely go to Joseph-Beth and see if they have Don’t Touch. 😉 I actually bought my copy from them last fall, and it’s a top 5 fave of 2014.

    Like

Leave a Reply

