Book Challenges of 2015

Again I come with these late new 2015 posts. But either way, it’s still not too late!

Last year, my new year resolution was to read more. I obviously accomplished that goal so this year I thought I’d participate in some reading challenges. Originally I was going to just focus on the Popsugar one that I learned about from Aubrey at Pointe Taken, but then I bought quite a few books from Half-Price Books. Along with my purchases was a calendar that had book recommendations by authors for each month.

https://i0.wp.com/41.media.tumblr.com/409659d720fac295278f956fd330eb9d/tumblr_ngg7hfJRCS1r6wna6o1_1280.png

Now I’m positive that this Popsugar challenge is going to take all year to finish. I’ve already checked off four of the categories.

A book by a female author – To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

A mystery or thriller – Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga

A book by an author you’ve never read before – Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

A book set in another country – Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

For some of them I’ll have to research to find a fitting book (For example, a book with antonyms in it’s title) but I think the rest will be fairly easy. I’m really interested in finishing this because I think it’ll greatly improve the variety of genres I read.

Half Price Books 2015 Calendar

As for the Half-Price Books Calendar I just really like how there are book recommendations from authors every month. I was initially thinking that I could read the recommended books every month, but there are like 10 and I don’t want to limit what I read.

January was Marie Lu’s month!

Marie Lu January HPB CalendarHer recommendations were all YA novels and I recognized most, if not all, of them.

Marie Lu's January Author Recommendations

I highlighted the books I have read. All of those books are ones that I want to read, perhaps before the end of this year. I think it’d be interesting to challenge myself to read at least two of the books off of each month’s recommendation list. I’m not sure if I’ll have time to do this month’s because knowing me, I’ll end up forgetting to find the book. Maybe I’ll start in February? I’m still debating.

Leave a Reply

