Top Ten Books I Feel As Though Everyone Has Read But Me

 50ab0-toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

This week was technically a “freebie” top ten Tuesday but since I didn’t realize that, I sort of didn’t think of anything…..

But it’s not a problem! What I did was go to the website and browse old topics! Since I just began blogging last year, I had over a hundred different ideas to pick from. So I just picked a random one and went with it.

Now honestly, this post is more based off the blogosphere because well….. I don’t know too many people that read as much as I do. There are a lot of times where I’ll try to start a conversation about an allegedly popular book only to get confusion as my response. Other ones are books that had movie adaptations or were popular back in middle school.


1. The Book Thief Marcus Zusak

Well there’s a movie… and I own it…. and I’ve heard many people spazz over how sad it is… I even saw this one guy in the lunch line pull it out of his backpack. Except then I heard him tell his friends he was going to Sparknote it. How sad. But I still haven’t read it.

2. If I Stay – Gayle Forman

Again there’s a movie…. and I’ve heard a million people talk about how they cried when they read it…. the trailer itself made me feel emotional. Like The Book Thief, I own a copy but still have yet to read it.

3. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

Everybody on booktube and the blogosphere has read this book and spoken of how Maas is so evil to her characters. I know there’s a female assassin which sounds cool. I love the colors and design of the covers. I think her series is going to be quite lengthy so maybe I’ll wait until it’s all been released. But that could take years.

4. Delirium – Lauren Oliver

Super popular book of selection among the female population in my school. I swear I’ll see on girl read it and return it, only to have her friend reading it the next day. It’s like there was only one book to read. The same happened with Uglies but at least I’ve read that one.

5. The Selection – Kiera Cass

I’ve heard people talk about it and I’ve seen people read it on booktube. I honestly don’t feel inclined to read it, especially since the main character’s name is America Singer…… I tried a few months ago but the book had to be returned.

6. Beautiful Creatures – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

The movie and popularity deal again. Heard of friends who saw it and people that read it. Then heard about an unconvincing male narrator and lost interest.

7. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

The “it-book” of 2014. Every adult I’ve heard talking about reading has mentioned Gone Girl and I’m honestly interested to see what all the hype is.

8. The Cobra EventRichard Preston

The most popular book of 7th-8th grade. We had read Hot Zone as required reading in 7th grade and it was actually really interesting if a little gory. A lot of the boys read The Cobra Event afterwards. I’m grateful to say that I snagged a copy at Goodwill a few months back.

9. The Alchymist – Michael Scott

Popular series of choice in middle school. I’m hoping that it wasn’t as bad as the Magyk series (which was also popular). The Magyk series was truly horrendous by the third book so I really doubt their taste in reading.

10. Wuthering Heights/Jane Eyre/Brontë sister’s books

This isn’t necessarily something my peers have read but something I feel personally. As a whole, society expects women and literature majors to have read this novel and most adults are likely to have read these. I know some people said Wuthering Heights was one of the most boring reads ever, but I still feel like it’s all a matter of preference.

What popular books have you not read?

Leave a Reply

