Ten Books I’d Love To Read With My Book Club

 50ab0-toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

I’m actually only in my school book club and we don’t really do a lot. We have plans for the library and we pretty much just talk about books and topics related to it. It’s a pretty fun club and for me, a great way to unwind after school. We tried to do a group novel last semester (It was The Name of the Star, I Hunt Killers, and Levithan and we can pick one.). Well it didn’t really work out because nobody would ever read at the same pace but we still got to discuss it… kind of.

I’m not really sure what books would be great for a book club but it seems that for the one I’m in, the book has to be gender-neutral because the guys are opposed to romance and the girls don’t want too much gore. In an ideal world, nobody would care and we would all enjoy reading everything but life doesn’t work that way. So below I have listed books that I thought would be great for my club to read. Most of them are books I haven’t read because I don’t really want to reread a book I’ve read before. I’m just going to pretend that my school has all of the books below.


1. The Archived – Victoria Schwab

Well….. I love Victoria Schwab. I have no idea what this book is about but I’m pretty sure it has a good amount of action or creepiness to satisfy the boys. And I’m banking on the fact that 99% of YA has romance woven into the plot in some way.

2. The Walled City – Ryan Graudin

I want to read this. I actually don’t think there is a lot of romance in this one. But that’s okay. Maybe the girls will be appeased by the cool setting….? Plus gore and action. And I want to.

3. Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch

This novel has had exceptionally good ratings from nearly everybody. It is a high-action fantasy novel and it has a love triangle. The only worry I’d have about this would be too much romance. Because the blurb seemed to imply as such.

4. Cinder – Marissa Meyer

There’s a guy in the club that reads exclusively Sci-fi and action. If there is romance, he simply is not interested. I doubt a fairytale retelling would interest him much but cyborgs…? Maybe?

5. Splintered – A.G. Howard

I actually think a girl in the club has read this before. That’s okay. She can lead the discussions. And it’s another retelling. I’m sorry but that guy can learn to expand his net of genres.

6. Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

I think this book might just be the perfect book for the club. Okay sure it’s an adult novel but that’s okay! There’s time travel, historical events, romance, it has it all. I’m not sure how much of each it has, but the cover implies that there might be limited romantic interactions?

What am I kidding? Most books have romance in it in some form.

7. Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo

I own a copy. I haven’t read it. But I own a copy. I know there’s romance. But the unique setting might pull some non-romance readers in…?

8. Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

I think it might be safe to say that this book is a YA “classic”. Erm not really a classic but one that a lot of people have heard of. There’s paranormal stuff and gore and honestly I just really want to read this one.

9. The Silence of Six – E.C. Meyers

Besides that fact that the library doesn’t have it… the trailer was cool and action-y. It’s a thriller but also about hackers. Therefore, by my reasoning, it might not be so gory as to scare away the other female readers of the club.

10. The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

Popular dystopian novel and I want to read it. There’s superpowers and romance. Good combo so hopefully it’d be okay.


It’s pretty obvious that the club I’m in has way way too many different tastes for novels (not that that is a bad thing). Most of the club can stand reading romance novels but some just can’t do it. I feel like nobody would be able to agree on any single book. That attempt was kind of sad XD but maybe I can bring these up as potential candidates at the next meeting.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

