Ten Books I STILL Haven’t Read from YA

 50ab0-toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

I think I’ve made substantial progress with hitting some of the popular YA books that nearly everybody has read in the blogosphere. I’ve read Speak, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Anna and the French Kiss, The 5th Wave, etc. among other popular titles. Obviously I still have a long way to go because there are way too many books that I still haven’t read.

However, I’m making more progress because I’m reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone at the moment!

1. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

I’ve heard phenomenal things and I genuinely think I will like it. I love the look of the covers and from what I’ve heard, it will rip my heart out and stomp on it. Awesome. I like books that do that. Then I can join in on all the fangirl-y pain that people have felt.

2. The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

Well I’m pretty sure the entire series has been finished at this point. Plus it’s been relatively popular in the blogosphere and I need more action-y books.

3. The Selection – Kiera Cass

Besides the fact that even people at my school have heard of and read this book, apparently the boys in this book are very attractive. Now I question the validity of that statement but it’s another YA dystopian staple that almost everybody has read.

4. The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

I hated Shiver so I’m extremely skeptical of this one. Multiple fans, non Stiefvater fans and fans alike seem to have enjoyed this one. Plus it sounds like it will have more action than Shiver did. I also feel as if I should give Stiefvater another chance because I didn’t like her other book that much.

5. Heist Society – Ally Carter

Besides the fact that this author seems to be a YA favorite, Heist Society is one of those novels that I’m guilty of avoiding due to the cover. Books with faces don’t really catch my attention. But I’ve heard about spies and so maybe I’ll finally get around to it.

6. White Cat – Holly Black

I’ve tried on two different occasions to read this book but it was always at the bottom of my pile of library books. I have yet to read it OR any Holly Black novel. I should probably fix that.

7. Open Road Summer – Emery Lord

I’ve heard exceptional things about Emery Lord and I know that she is said to be an amazing contemporary author. Many people love her writing and I still haven’t read it.

8. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

This novel is so popular all over booktube but I’m still a little skeptical. The book gives me this distinct vibe that it’s writing might strike me as being very empty and I feel a slight aversion to the novel. But I still do want to see what the hype is about.

9. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

*Coughs* Um I’ve had this book on my shelf for forever and I still haven’t read it….. Maybe I’ll get around to it.

10. Dangerous Girls – Abigail Haas

I’m in desperate need of more thrillers and books that twist my mind. I’ve heard that this book does exactly that but I still haven’t borrowed it or even tried to find it at the library.


Obviously this list was just full of popular books with hype.

But what books have you still not read?

5 comments

  1. I have so much love for Throne of Glass, Heist Society, and Open Road Summer. I hope you can read them all soon! And I need to read The Darkest Minds, too…

    Like

  2. I’m pretty sure I’m going to get some of them next time I go to the library so hopefully I will FINALLY get to read them.
    Thanks for visiting Dancing Through the Pages!
    Kelly

    Like

Leave a Reply

