Top Ten Bookish Problems

 50ab0-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

HAHAHA THIS ONE IS GONNA BE FUN.

While many think that they have some of the worst problems in the world, booklovers have their own list of woes to talk about. Below, are some of the biggest ones I’ve had to deal with.

1. No shelf space

For library books. And new books. And whole series. And everything. It’s a problem.

2. Abysmal movie adaptations

*Sideeyes Percy Jackson movies distastefully*

I absolutely hate it when moviemakers don’t…. read a book before writing a script. It’s pretty clear when important characters aren’t introduced and the entire plot is uprooted and changed.

3. COVERS

It sucks when publishers decide to change the cover of a book because 99% of the time the new cover sucks and the old cover was amazing. Since I’m a broke student, what usually ends up happening is that I agonize over the fact that if I want to get a first-edition book, I have to pay way more than I would have if I had bought it at the time it was published. Or I want an international cover because the American ones are hella ugly.

4. No bookmarks (*Cough losing all the bookmarks*)

I don’t know why this happens but I always end up losing a bookmark. I don’t know if it’s because I drop it while I read or because I’m too blind to find it but I end up dipping into my ever-expanding collection of bookmarks looted from the library. And then I end up losing that one and the process continues.

5. Reading or sleep?

Everybody has experienced this before. The debate over whether you should sleep or read “one more chapter” (we all know it’s not only going to be one). I always end up picking the option to read. Then I go to sleep at like 1 in the morning.

6. No friends to fangirl with

This is something that I end up experiencing a lot. I don’t know if it’s because I’m good at multi-tasking or if it’s because I sacrifice sleep for reading, but since entering highschool, a lot of my friends don’t have time to read anymore. Then because of that, they don’t read as often and none of them read the same books that I do. So when I’m a crazed high from reading a fantastic book, I can’t fangirl with any of them because they either haven’t read it or don’t understand what I’m talking about.

7. Neverending TBR list

Erm I have around 600 books on the list…. after I removed a bunch of books I didn’t think I’d ever read.

8. Not owning an e-reader

Huge problem especially since I use Netgalley to find new books to read. I end up reading most of them on my laptop which is not good because I can’t bring it with me everywhere. Then I sacrifice sleep time to finish a galley before it’s release date.

9. Preferring to read instead of socializing

Especially since I have less time to read with highschool. A lot of times, when my friends are all talking, I’ll just detach myself from the group and find a corner to go read in.

10. Library fees

I probably have less of a problem with this than people in big cities. I find that people in my town don’t really follow new releases when looking for a new book. And books that are really popular in big cities don’t get the same amount of love where I live. Therefore I can pretty much renew a book as many times as I want… that is, if I actually remember to do so. I’ve had fees that go all the way up to $20 before….


So what book problems do you face?

4 comments

  1. I feel the same way about the covers. I especially don’t want to read the books that have actual models because I find that it looks… very tacky.
    Thanks for visiting Dancing Through the Pages!
    Kelly

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

