Just Finished: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

….

………..

…………………

Someone please hold me now while I cry over the ending.

Okay it didn’t make me cry. But I did think that it was a disappointing ending to a decent novel.

Again, I will definitely be discussing spoilers!

Um. Okay.

First of all, I want to say that that ending sucked. It royally sucked. There was absolutely no resolution and Nick and Amy are definitely crazy for thinking that staying in a toxic marriage is safe for either of them. Nick is a complete idiot (on top of being a douchebag) for actually staying with her and Amy needs to take a chill pill.

I’m deeply unhappy by the fact that Nick feels an obligation to get his wife arrested. It’s NOT HIS FAULT that she is crazy. He could live in the lovely mountains of Switzerland and completely shun any modern day technology. He could think like his wife did the entire book and leave an untraceable trail.

On the other hand, I was told that Amy would get some type of punishment and she didn’t. She murdered somebody and she didn’t get caught. What. Clearly the cops suck at their job because Amy didn’t get caught at all. There was that one inconsistency with the panties. It wasn’t Amy’s or Andie’s size so why was it in Nick’s office? I for one, think that they should have observed where it was sold (in their town) and tried to find all the people that bought that pair of underwear. And if Amy showed up in the records…. maybe she would have been caught.

I can say that I wasn’t too surprised by the end. I think a part of me was in denial when I was reading the last few chapters. I knew I wanted Nick to press charges against Amy so that she could be locked up. But then when I got to the part where Amy overhears Nick talking to his lawyer… I knew it was all over. There were only about twenty pages left and there was no way that Nick could escape in twenty pages (much to my chagrin).

But overall, I’m kind of satisfied with the novel. I enjoyed reading it a lot. Today, I picked up the movie from Redbox and realized that it was a R-rated movie. I was momentarily surprised before realizing that the book had some… inappropriate scenes. So I’ll probably “watch” it with my mom soon (In other words, I’ll watch and she’ll sleep.).

In the meantime, I watched both movie trailers.

The first one…. I didn’t really like it. I don’t think I would have chosen to watch this movie had I not known there was a book. I didn’t like the cheerful background of the video and the acting felt very plastic-y. So I went on to watch the second trailer.

I liked this portrayal a lot more. The dramatic music gave it more urgency and made Amy seem… more sinister? It made the whole situation feel more sinister. But I kind of wish that the trailer hadn’t told so much to the viewer. In the book, I liked that the information was slowly leaked to readers. We’d learn that Amy was pregnant in one chapter or that Nick had hit Amy in another. I know it might have been predictable but I really liked how the information was dispersed throughout the novel.

Anyways, that was just a general overview of my opinions on the novel. I’ll be more detailed in an upcoming review!

One comment

Leave a Reply

