Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Recently Added to the TBR

50ab0-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.


As I’ve talked about before in previous Top Ten Tuesdays, a huge problem that many bibliophiles face is the ever-expanding TBR list.

I’d say that about 50% of the stuff I do on the internet is directly related to books in some way. About 5% of it is probably spent on Goodreads, constantly browsing through the “Related Books” and “Recommended Books” section of the site. As a result, the books on my TBR grow exponentially greater than the books I actually finish reading do. I try to fix the problem by annually purging the list of titles that I know I’ll never finish, but it doesn’t actually help.

So I just looked at my Goodreads shelves and found the 10 books that I’ve added the most recently that I can realistically see myself reading sometime in the future. Of course that’s just wistful thinking because god knows when I’ll actually have time to read 600+ books.


1. Lying Out Loud – Kody Keplinger

Okay this actually was added on because I fully intend on reading The Duff. I haven’t yet because the only place I can get it is the school library and I still don’t know how to use the hold system there. Someone had it checked it out anyways. But I WILL get to reading this companion novel once I get to reading the first book.

2. Stand-Off (Winger #2) – Andrew Smith

The review hasn’t gone up yet although I finished this book a while ago. It’s almost finished (along with at least three other reviews) but I have yet to post it because I need to edit it. If there’s something you can get from me putting this on the TBR, it’s that I enjoyed Winger  quite a bit and needed closure because it had very little of it. Plus I kind of want to learn more about rugby now.

3. Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles #1) – Lauren DeStefano

Not entirely sure what this book is about but I think I added it because I was intrigued by the cover….?

4. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories – Various Authors

I read the first compilation, My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, and I found it a fun read. Stephanie Perkins is a fabulous writer and I totally respect her. I liked learning about different YA authors in a little compilation of stories (I still need to go check out Matt de La Pena’s books though). So once I learned there was a second one, it was instantly added on to the list.

5. Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) – Veronica Rossi

I actually probably should have added this book a long time ago, back when I was doing the The Broke and The Bookish Secret Santa. I gave one of the books in the series away and was interested to actually read the series. But funnily enough, I didn’t add it until a few weeks ago. Kind of weird but it’s on the list now!

6. Passenger – Alexandra Bracken

This has pretty low chances of being read, seeing as I still haven’t read her more popular book, The Darkest Minds. My friend thinks that I would love the series a lot, but I still haven’t read it.

7. Devoted – Jennifer Mathieu

Really, really enjoyed The Truth About Alice, and was very disappointed when I didn’t get approved for this one on Netgalley. It’s okay. I’ll just wait over here like a starved man. The book talks about unique religious views and personal realization, both of which are my kryptonite when it comes to contemporary. Gimmeeeeee!

8. Go Set a Watchman (To Kill a Mockingbird #2) – Harper Lee

I read TKAM last year for school and liked it. With all the hype that’s going around about if Lee was forced to publish, I’m very interested to see if this actually lives up to it’s predecessor.

9. The Trouble With Destiny – Lauren Morrill

I’m hesitant to read this one due to the really low ratings on Goodreads. The book doesn’t come out until December this year so I have some time before I have to read it, but the initial excitement I had about getting approved for a Scholastic book was quickly destroyed when I saw the low ratings.

10. Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) – Susan Ee

This was added a long long time ago but I didn’t actually get around to reading it. I recently was approved to read the first and second one on Netgalley although they were published a long time ago. I have no clue why they were on there, but now that I have an ebook of it, it’s been moved up on the TBR.


So what books have you added to your tbr and why? Did you bump up any books on your list? I want to know!

4 comments

  1. Ugh, I still can’t believe I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird. I need to go buy that one… And I haven’t read these, but the Summer Days & Summer Nights sounds fun!

    Like

  2. To be honest, I’ll probably never read half of these…. but I can still hope right? To Kill a Mockingbird was required reading for school but I still liked it a lot. I hope you like it when you read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read most of thee but Angel was soooo sooo good! You have to check it out sometime soon 🙂 The covers are all gorgeous as well.

    Like

  4. I actually recently finished the first and second book! I haven’t been able to review them because of tests and stuff but I did really enjoy them. The covers are really pretty and I cannot wait until I’ll be able to get my hands on the last book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

