#ReadingYourLibrary Weekly Update: Books To Suggest To My Library

Reading My Library Challenge

Yeah I know this is going up the same day that I’m signing up but I wanted to write this post okay?

As I’d stated in my sign-up post, I had started The Archived and Cabinet of Curiosities. I’d already begun reading some of them before I signed up, but I started them in April, so it’s not like I’m cheating too much.

I’m really liking Cabinet of Curiosities so far. It was a mini-blind book date thing I did with my school book club. I’m not a huge fan of the writing style but I’m really intrigued by the plot. As for The Archived, well, I finished it earlier this morning. And freaking fangirl squeals over Wesley Ayers because he’s my new literary crush. Review won’t be going up until much later, but as of now, the rating is going to be somewhere along 3.5-4 stars. I also think I’m going to be reading The Scorpio Trials next. I’ve read about three chapters but I haven’t really gotten much further.

UPDATE: COMPLETE

Okay now on to part two of this post!

I could suggest so many different books for my library to get. So. Many. I’m of the opinion that the teen section of my library is tiny because they fit all of the books onto like two shelves. If I end up writing the other post for this challenge, you’ll get to see what I mean, but believe me when I say that it’s puny. Like part of the reason I’m probably never going to get around to reading some of the books on my tbr is because I can’t get it from the library and I don’t have the money to buy every book I want to read. So yeah, me suggesting books is going to make me sound really selfish because I’d be telling them to buy books that I want to read. I swear I’m not this bad in person!

I think part of the problem is that I’ve become so immersed into the online YA community (in terms of reading blogs) that I know what books are big in the community. There’s just no parallel of the popularity online and in my town. The library here is more likely to want to purchase books that they know will be checked out rather than take a gamble on some book that nobody has ever heard of.

In no particular order……

Any of Emery Lord’s novels – I’m so intrigued by her books. There are so many reviews praising her novels but I just can’t read it because I can’t find it here!

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – This one would be a suggestion to my school library. I don’t know if the public library has it but my school library doesn’t. And that in itself is a crime because this book is so good.

Victoria Schwab’s adult novels – Like VICIOUS and A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC. School library again. Okay I realize that they probably wouldn’t buy these because high schoolers don’t usually read adult books but I think that these books could be read by teenagers. And they’re fabulous and amazing.

While we’re talking about Victoria Schwab….

The public library should also get a copy of The Archived. To be honest, the library probably used to have this book because I distinctly remember seeing this cover displayed on the shelf. I’m guessing that nobody checked it out, and as a result, the book was yanked from the shelves. It’s a really good book so it’s a shame that they don’t have it.

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger – They made a movie adaptation and the public library doesn’t have it. Really. In this case, the school library wins because they actually have a copy (that’s almost always checked out grrr).

Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson – Besides the fact that I’ve been angsting over not having this book in my hands since a year ago, I honestly think this book has a really interesting synopsis. So why not?

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – Another one where the book had high reviews. And the library has Nelson’s other book, The Sky is Everywhere.

Shadows by Paula Weston – I desperately want to read this book. I love the cover and the synopsis. I have this really good gut feeling about the book. But again, like every other book on this list, the library doesn’t have it.

I could probably go on and on about the things that my library lacks (most notably, popular books that I want to read). But at the end of the day, I still really like my library.

What books do you want to suggest to your library?

Leave a Reply

