The Scorpio Races: It’s a Standalone Novel?

When I finished this, I seriously wasn’t ready to let go. I liked it a lot even with all of it’s issues and the only thing I could think of when I finished it was that I could not wait to read the sequel.

(Come to me nooooow)

So the next afternoon when I got back from school, I went on Goodreads to mark this book as read and hopefully find the sequel. It was all dandy before I learned that there was no sequel.

Hold up

Um what?

When I had started this book, I had already knew that it was loved by a lot of people. And of course, since I kind of grouped Stiefvater into the same group as Armentrout (which is one where they simultaneously write the books for like five different series) I was under the assumption that The Scorpio Races was a series. I’d rarely even found a standalone fantasy novel in YA so it was kind of mind-boggling when I learned that there wasn’t a sequel.

At this point, I wasn’t willing to give up. Nope. I was going on a journey to figure out the truth.

And this journey ended pretty quickly once I went on her site.

No. That’s the short answer. The long answer is maybe when I’m 60 and feeling very nostalgic, I will write something called RETURN TO THISBY that won’t be as good as the original, but will please both me and lovers of Scorpio. But like I said. It’ll be in 30 years. I wouldn’t hold my breath. I’d very much like to return to the world, but wouldn’t unless I had a very definite story to tell.

Which then triggered my disappointed tears.

I respect her decision though. Nobody should be forced to write another novel if they don’t think it’s write. I know that a lot of authors have been to pushed to make their series longer just so publishers can profit more. So the fact that Stiefvater gets the right to make this decision is really good.

So after this, I began to think about it. In retrospect, The Scorpio Races had much better closure than a lot of other standalone novels. There’s a sense of finality at the end that doesn’t exactly make me cry for a sequel as much as other novels. Of course that doesn’t mean I don’t want one (that would totally defeat the purpose of this post) but if Stiefvater never writes one, I think I’d react much better than I would if, for example, the final Harry Potter book never got published.

But that made me want to wonder. A lot of times people will lament over the lack of sequel. Finishing the book doesn’t completely tie up all the loose ends. So what makes a book a good standalone? Is there any point in a series where it becomes unnecessary to continue writing more?

Obviously the short answer would be whenever the story ceases to need it. When a story is done and there is no more to it. Of course that threshold is a hold other discussion for a different day.

But what would you define as the perfect standalone novel?

2 comments

  1. I wanted a sequel too, for about a minute. Maybe we’re spoiled with sequels today. After all, there is only one Pride and Prejudice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

