[Review] Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)Angelfall by Susan Ee
Series: Penryn & The End of Days #1
Publication: May 23rd, 2013 by Hodder and Stoughton
Number of Pages:
326
Genre: Paranormal, Post-Apocalyptic, Urban Fantasy, Romance
Source: Netgalley
Rating: ★★★★1/2

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository


Summary

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.
Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.
Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.
Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.


Review

I received this ebook from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review. This does not affect my opinions and review in any way

I. Loved. This. Book.

*Screams*

Okay so I wasn’t expecting much. I don’t usually like reading post-apocalyptic books because they usually don’t have much of a plot. A general trend that I’ve seen with post-apocalyptic books is that the main characters are nomadic, always searching for food, and running from mobs of people and monsters. Makes sense, considering the situation that they are in but there still isn’t really much of a plot.

With Angelfall it was the same. The plot isn’t completely outlined and there really isn’t much foreshadowing but I loved it.

When I was reading it, it took me a while to get into it. But once I was hooked there was no going back. For me, the pacing was just right. Not too fast and not too slow. But once the action starts, ooh that’s where it starts to really pick up.

Penryn is definitely one of my favorite protagonists of all time. She’s not the strongest one, but who cares? It’s not like she was a prodigy boxer before the world went to shit. Well she had some other experience that made it easier for her to survive, but she was down to earth about it. She was a normal girl that wasn’t prepared for the situation so it makes sense that she wouldn’t be the most badass survivor (okay she was badass but not like “overpower everything I’m a superhero” badass) . If anything, it made her really relatable and realistic. Many times when I was reading along, I could relate to what she was feeling really easily. Her fierce loyalty to her sister and her complete lack of ability to hide her feelings is something that I understand so much.

And Raffe? Seriously swoonworthy but I’ll leave him to Penryn 😉 While he wasn’t as developed (which, by the way, gets fixed in the second book), since we, as readers, don’t learn a lot about his past, we get to see different tiny pieces of his character. It’s slowly unwound since he’s a little… prickly in the beginning. I mean, cut the guy some slack! I would be just as pissed if someone was holding my angel wings hostage (and yeah that “someone” was Penryn).

And yesssss I ship it. Of course I ship it. These two had some of the most hilarious banter that I absolutely adored. It’s a slow burn enemy to friends type relationship that is very, very rewarding. And while they don’t get all the way to dating in this book, there are signs of it that make it worth it. I don’t expect them to drop everything and start making out because it makes no sense for them to do that, but seriously. I SHIP IT.

So yeah. Overall, it was FANTASTIC. I was initially hesitant to read it but now I don’t have a single regret. I’d definitely recommend this book to anybody!


Have you read this one? Did you like it as much as I did? Actually, the more important question… did you ship it as much as I did?

8 comments

Leave a Reply

