The Ultimate Book Tag

Tag posts are always super fun to do and this one seems to be a really big one. I was tagged to do the Ultimate Book Tag by Summer at xingsings over three months a month ago. Nevertheless, now that school’s ended and I have more time, I’m able to do this tag. Check her blog out!

I was actually really scared to put this post up. Call me irrational but I just feel like this post wasn’t very good (and it’s probably the reason that I didn’t actually put it up although I finished it like two months ago). Well it has to go up sometimes and I’m definitely not changing it anytime soon so there’s no point in waiting. So without further ado (cliche alert!) The Ultimate Book Tag!


1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Depends on the book format. I literally can’t read print novels for long periods of time. I like to think that I can. Sometimes, I’ll start to read a book on a long car trip thinking that this time, I’ll be able to. Then I get carsick and have to sleep instead. On the other hand, ebooks, graphic novels/manga, and articles on my phone don’t usually give me any problems.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Errrr…… Andrew Smith. His writing is all kind of lyrical and distinct. Sort of. John Green. Because pretentious and I don’t really like it. Shakespeare. Because Shakespeare. Uh…. I don’t really have a good answer for this oops.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter, obviously. Even though I did have a TwiHeart stage and not a Potterhead stage, I still think that the Harry Potter series is way way better than the Twilight Saga.

  1. I have a lot of respect for J.K. Rowling and how she planned the entire series before actually writing it. Like really. I can’t ever stick to a single plotline when I write.
  2. Her characters are so much more deep and relatable than the Twilight characters. They grow up through the books and become loved characters of every reader.
  3. The worldbuilding is more complex and interesting. Hogwarts > Forks

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I’m a highschooler so I carry around a backpack. At any point, I will always have at least one book in it. Usually the book is from the school library because otherwise, I’ll accidentally return a book to the wrong library (school library to public or vice versa). Sometimes I’ll have a more books in there; it depends on if I’m reading a book for English or I’m almost done with a book. Otherwise, I have boring school stuff, wallet, pencil pouch, my phone and ipod, and headphones. I have this habit where I’ll keep a bunch of bookmarks in a notebook because I always pick up new, free bookmarks from the library. I like free stuff. I also always have way too many lip products in the bag. Like two lip balms, a lipstick, and a lip gloss. Organization does not exist in my universe. I also have a bajillion different keychains and crap hanging off of it.

Outside of school… pockets work fine.

5. Do you smell your books?

Yes. I always end up smelling my books at some point. Usually it has that nice musty paper-smell but I’ve had books that have smelled really weird. I think the last user of my AP Human Geography textbook wore a ridiculous amount of cologne because the pages reeked of it.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.

Yes to manga and graphic novels and yes to books that have little doodles and illustrations. I also like the maps and special edition books that have the glossy, colored illustrations.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Well, Twilight would be the obvious answer to this. And Halo. I actually really liked Halo until I realized that it wasn’t good when I tried to read the sequel like two years later. Also The Hunger Games and Divergent. For those two books it wasn’t like they were awful. It was more like I read better books and realized that mainstream novels weren’t as good.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Uh….. I have stories but they aren’t really funny.

I was always the kid that checked out 10+ books from the library and was gawked at when I stuffed them all in my backpack. There was this one time when I wanted to borrow someone’s book to read but the girl wouldn’t let me touch it. She was terrified that I’d wrinkle a page or something. So she sat me down and tried to dramatically read me the book. Let me tell you that I had no patience to listen to her read and left asap.

I also use to write all of my personal information on the inside flap of every single book I owned. I was terrified that I’d lose it and I’d never get the book back. In retrospect, I spelled my street address wrong and left out a letter in the state. I applaud the spelling ability of my younger self.

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?

I have no clue. If we’re counting kiddy books it’d probably be a copy of a Magic Tree House book or a Junie B. Jones book that clocks in at about 75-100 pages apiece. Or some miscellaneous picture book that is 20ish pages long.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Probably Atlas Shrugged or something like that.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I’ve dabbled around in fanfiction, none of which has been published and is some of the worst writing I’ve ever done. I’ve come up with book ideas. I’d like to be an author and publish books but I don’t think I’d actually get there. There’s a lot of commitment and I don’t really have that discipline. There’s also the fact that I think I’m a little too critical and that everything I write ends up looking horrifying to myself the next day. And I’m forgetful and would probably have a lot of continuity errors. Maybe I could one day if I practiced and did a lot of note-taking, but as of now, I can’t see myself being published.

12. When did you get into reading?

I’ve fallen in and out of reading the past few years. I was a big reader in elementary school and it spiked in sixth grade. I read almost nothing in 7th grade and tried to get back into reading late 8th grade. Now I’m trying to squeeze in books into daily life because I discovered online book blogs.

13. What is your favourite classic book? What are some classics you’ve read?

(I changed the question for myself because otherwise it’d make for a pitiful answer.)

I’ve read very few classics but I’m hoping to change that. I can probably name all of the classics I’ve read on one hand. Erm… that’d be Atlas Shrugged, Pride and Prejudice, Tom Sawyer, To Kill a Mockingbird and some Poe. I’m going to be reading Beloved sometime soon and I read Romeo and Juliet in class. I don’t want to label any of them as my favorites though because I definitely need to reread some of them to be sure.

14. In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I don’t understand this question at all. But I’ll answer both possible interpretations. English has never been super hard for me. It’s pretty flexible and my freshman English class was cake. Everything was so easy. I have a classmate that would do her English homework during her other classes because it’d been labelled as “not important”.

But is it my best subject? I have no clue. I seem to do decent in most classes but I haven’t really experienced a class where it’s like I have an extra affinity for it.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Depends on who was gifting me. If it’s a friend that knows I hated it and gave it to me as a gag joke or something, I’d probably just give them a look like this.

rly

If I don’t know them that well, I’d probably end up accepting it with a really tight smile on my face and say some completely bs comment like, “Oh I’ve read this one! I thought that the (insert something) was really good!” Or I’d just thank them and say that it was cool. Then it’d go on the shelf where I’d never ever touch it and eventually be shipped off to Goodwill or Half-Price Books. Or I’d re-gift it.

16. (No clue what happened to this question but apparently it disappeared)

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

Having a few really active weeks where I’m on top of my game and then disappearing for weeks at a time. I try to plan ahead but it just doesn’t work. Writing out long posts about life and then deleting it when I realize that it’s probably tmi. Uh…. skipping weeks of Top Ten Tuesdays or Stacking the Shelves because lack of time. Not commenting on other blogs. Not linking stuff in posts. I have a lot of bad habits…….

18. What is your favorite word?

I like delitescent a lot. And scintillating.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Dork. Definitely. Maybe nerd but I think more of a dork. I’m not sure what the differences are (because dictionary.com’s definitions are practically the same) but if we’re going off of what I tend to call myself and others… yeah, dork. Though I wouldn’t say that I’m outright lame. Because I’m not.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires have been so overdone but when they’re done right, I really like it. I haven’t had much experience with fairies, but I’d be interested in reading books with them. Recommendations, anybody?

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels. I don’t really care for animals and shapeshifters probably shift to animals a lot. I don’t really think I’d like the imagery of an animal representing some person using his/her paw to swat at something in the air. Plus I recently read the Angelfall series and loved it.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits. Ghost books are cool.

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires. I never really got into the post-apocalyptic genre and I couldn’t even finish World War Z.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Love triangle. I know a lot of people seem to hate them but when they’re done right, they can be good (although it’s like… rarely done right). From what I’ve read, forbidden love makes me uncomfortable 99% of the time.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Both! When I’m reading action-packed books with a few love scenes mixed in, it has to make sense. If they’re running away from someone evil, it is not the time to make out. If they are going to both fight to make it back home to be together, one of them does not suddenly stupidly sacrifice him or herself to the demons to save the other if they’ve already made an agreement.

With full on romance, well I like fluffy, cute romances so sue me for liking them.


Yeah this was… really late but it’s here now!

I tag…. actually I have no clue who has or hasn’t done this tag but if you have done it, feel free to ignore this.

6 comments

  1. I totally agree about the respect for J.K. Rowling! I honestly can’t think of any plot holes with the world of HP. She’s thorough and the world building is amazing. Then again she did have 7 books, and 5 of them were super thick. AND LOL, you have trouble sticking to the same plotline? I struggle with just coming up with a thesis. XD I’m just not a pithy person so my writing can often be very roundabout, repetitive, and/or I wander away from my initial argument. I’m so relieved my English/Literature academic journey is officially over. I feel the exact same way with THG. It’s not necessarily a bad book but it is one very overhyped. LOL, that Key gif is so appropriately used! Oh and I don’t think there are bad blogging habits to be honest, your bouts of absences kind of adds character to you as a blogger. It’s nothing to feel bad about. Plus, there’s plenty of bloggers that don’t interact as much as they want. That’s a universal habit. And back to the classics question. KELLY! WHAT??! Well, I hope you get to read more amazing classics in high school. East of Eden is so good and still remains my favorite. Lord of the Flies is another one I remember being pretty awesome. And Jane Eyre. Lovely answers, I’m glad you decided to post them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know some people that just don’t appreciate the wonder of HP and I think they’re absolutely crazy because her books are just so complex. Ugh I love them. Writing is hard, man. Making it all flow and make sense is just bleh especially when I don’t wanna make it work.
    Really? Hm I guess that means I can be less guilty about it when school starts up again haha!
    *coughs* yeah reading classics has been something I’ve been meaning to do but it’s just so intimidating trying to get into them haha. One of my friends reads like exclusively classics plus the random non-classic so he’s always pushing them on me. He hasn’t really succeeded though lmao. Oh and I have read Lord of the Flies! I guess I totally forgot to include it because I read it for school in 8th grade.
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know right? For some of them, I read the first paragraph and I’m like “what is going on??” Not to mention some authors have a very unique style and it takes some easing in before you can enjoy them. I would like to read some more classics too though. We’ll tackle this goal together! 😉 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

