Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity

Top Ten Tuesday Attempt #1 pic version

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

This Week’s Topic: Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters


If you haven’t noticed, I made a little Top Ten Tuesday header thing. I don’t know if I like it at all because it was my first attempt at making something on Photoshop but I’ll keep experimenting around with stuff until I find something I like. Until then, thoughts? I like the red but I’m on the fence about the greyish stuff surrounding the ring.

Anyways, back to the topic at hand.

Books that celebrate diversity.

I love diverse books. In our society, there’s so much discrimination and negativity when it comes to certain minorities and groups. That’s where the beauty of great diverse books kicks in. A great diverse book can open up and fix so many misconceptions when it comes to cultures and minority groups that we don’t understand. And while I’m definitely not the person to go to to find good diverse books, I can name at least a few that I have enjoyed. To open it up and bring more attention to more diverse books besides the pitiful amount that I have read, I’ll be filling up a few more spots with diverse books that I really do want to read but haven’t gotten the chance to.

The best thing about this post is that I had been making a rough list of the books I wanted to include on this when the song “Mazeltov” by ZE:A played. This particular song is K-Pop and features lyrics that make absolutely no sense. It names the days of the week. It also has a lyric that names different “types” of girls. And by types, I mean nationalities and ethnicities.

Latin girl, Mexican girl, Korean girl, Japan girl, American girl

Hardly a great representation of diversity but I still cracked up because the song itself is ridiculous and names a bunch of different ethnicities/nationalities that are considered the protagonists of diverse books in the United States.

If I have a review posted for a particular book, I have it linked at the end of each one.


  1. Born Confused (Born Confused #1) by Tanuja Desai Hidier
    I haven’t actually put my review up for this book (and a few others on this list) but I can just go ahead and say that this book was everything I wanted in terms of diversity. I thought it would be just a representation of a second-generation Indian girl. I got that and more. There’s LGBTQ, drag queens, Hindus, Sikhs, familial problems, etc. There’s so much in this book and I genuinely appreciate that.
  2. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
    Native Americans are a quickly dying group within the United States when they were originally the majority. Few, if any, are accurately represented in media today. They are not savages. They are humans like the rest of us and it’s completely unfair that they face some huge issues. This book highlights that.
  3. Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
    I LOVED this book. It was cute and it did show some of the issues and problems that homosexuals may face nowadays. What I loved the most about this book was the fact that Simon was like any other teenager. Sure, he was gay but it wasn’t made out to be a huge deal. Love this one.
    (And yes I’m toning down my fangirling for the sake of the length of this post)
  4. More Than This by Patrick Ness
    This book wasn’t marketed as a LGBTQ book but it features a gay protagonist. The book is really confusing but it features a fantastic and diverse cast of characters that each have their own fabulous personalities.
  5. A Mango Shaped Space by Wendy Mass
    I haven’t put Wendy Mass on any of my lists in a really long time but I still love her books. I didn’t know that A Mango Shaped Space was considered YA because I understood it pretty easily when I read it. This book features a female protagonist that lives with synesthesia, a condition in which her senses are mixed. Words and sounds have colors to her. This was one of my favorite books when I was younger and I have yet to find a book with a character quite like this one.
  6. A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab
    To be honest, this probably isn’t the best book to put on a list that talks about diversity. However, recently, Schwab has been getting a lot of shit for her representation of a bi character in this novel. She’s even said that in this world, straight even isn’t the first assumption that people should have. While some people are complaining about it, I think that the fact that she included it is great. The point of the book was not to focus on one secondary character’s sexuality but to portray a beautiful world and it’s issues. I like that she didn’t make everybody straight but I like it even more that it wasn’t made out to be a big deal. LGBTQ people are just as normal as everybody else. (Review)
  7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire-Saenz
    I might not have enjoyed this one as much as others but I still gave it 4 stars because of the representation and emotions of the characters. A lot of times this is one of the most commonly mentioned books when it comes to a LGBTQ novel and some people I’ve talked to outside of the blogosphere actually knows this book. It gets the point across and is a favorite in the community. (Review)


  8. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    I was actually completely unaware that this was considered a “diverse” book. I was looking at lists to find books that I want to read that are diverse and this was on there. I’d always classified it as a classic. I picked up my copy from Goodreads for fifty cents and I’ve heard some great things about it from friends. I’m actually pretty excited to eventually read this.
  9. Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson
    This was on lists last year. And it’s still on this list. Unread. *Sighs deeply* My memory is a little fuzzy with what this one is actually about but I do remember that it has something to do with mental illness, and thus, is a diverse book. Plus it was on a lot of diverse book lists.
  10. Diamond Boy by Michael Williams
    I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of Blood Diamonds and anything similar. A blood diamond is pretty much any diamond that was illegally mined in a war zone and used to pay for war supplies. I’m not sure if this is about blood diamonds but it’s set in Africa and has diamond mining. I really, really want to read this novel but I’m pretty much positive that none of the libraries in my area has this book.
  11. Sold by Patricia McCormick
    This book sounds exceptional. I’m pretty sure it’s won a few awards and I’ve heard that it’s one of those books that makes you understand and feel the emotions of those in similar situations. I definitely want to read this one at some point.

I’ve named some of the diverse books I’ve read and some that I actually really want to read. But since one can never have too many diverse books, what other diverse books do you guys recommend?

2 comments

  1. I need to have Ari and Dante + Simon and the Homo Sapien Agenda in my life as it’s been on every list. Thanks for making your list, I am loving this week’s TTT topic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

