Page Dancer Weekly | Chapter I: Summer Break + My First Book Signing

chap 1 pd weekly

To be honest, I’m not a fabulously huge fan of the graphic I made for this, so I’m still gonna be playing around with it. It’s probably gonna be changing every time I do this feature xD

Anyways, welcome to my first ever Page Dancer Weekly! I introduced it yesterday, with a post cheesily titled “Page Dancer Weekly: Prologue (New Feature!)”. In other words, it’s my own bimonthly wrap-up post that gives me an excuse to babble about everything that’s currently going on in my life. Expect these posts to be monstrously long because I’m pretty much jamming like five different posts into one.

This covers everything that happened between 7/18-8/1. As great as a monthly wrap-up is, I think I’d end up forgetting everything that I’d want to say. Weekly will be difficult to maintain with school starting up in 12 days so bimonthly works the best for me πŸ™‚life copyAs your average Asian-American teen, I’m currently still on Summer Break. These last few weeks have been rather boring. I haven’t really done much except laze around at home, finishing summer homework, reading, blogging, and getting my “exercise” in the form of learning K-Pop dances and doing Blogilates videos (I started the Beginner’s Workout Calendar). It’s been pretty fun as I’ve learned three dances so far. For those interested, those would be AOA’s “Like a Cat“, Miss A’s “Only You“, and EXO’s “MAMA“. While I look pretty dang good doing the second dance, I learned that I can’t do sexyΒ (which is what AOA’s dances usually are) and that I look like a complete potato trying to do EXO’s dance when I have zero experience in hip hop. I’m working towards it looking semi-decent though xD After those, I’m probably going to start learning Super Junior’s “Devil” and BTS’s “Boy in Luv” because the former is an easy break from EXO’s dance and the latter is a difficult dance that will definitely make me look dumb.

With that being said, last weekend, I went to go see the new Marvel movie, The Ant-Man with a friend, which was hilariously amazing. My standards for movies are usually quite high but when it comes to the world of superheroes, which I have literally no experience in, I can pretty much say that it satisfied me. The movie had Marvel’s trademark humor and action. It was hilarious and adorable. I WANT A PET JUMBO ANT NOW. I highly recommend it!

At home, along with lazing around, I’ve been doing a “challenge” of some sorts. Well it’s only a challenge for me. There’s currently something called the “no-poo movement” going on around the internet. It’s pretty much this idea that shampoos are “stripping the oils” from hair and forcing it to quickly become greasy. I’m not sure how much of that is complete BS but me, being the person that hates the scent of the shampoo in the shower (it makes me nauseous) and washing my hair in general (I don’t like waiting for it to dry), decided to try it. I can usually go anywhere from 3-6 days without my hair getting greasy but that was before I dyed it. While I was in China, I dyed my hair a lighter color and it completely messed up my hair habits. As in, I now had to wash it way more frequently. So now, I’m trying this experiment and while I hate the somewhat greasy scent of my hair, it’s not horrible. I can deal with it. I think I’m hitting about two weeks today, actually. Now I’m sorry for those that hate the appearance of greasy, nasty hair, but below are some pictures of how my hair looks.

no poo week 1 and 2 copyI’d have more of the first week hair except I was extremely dumb and accidentally deleted the best angles and pictures. I didn’t press Cancel fast enough and they were erased -_- So instead of having nicer pics that would highlight the greasiness and changes, you guys get these awkward failed angles of the hair. I actually planned how I’d take the pics! So I’m pretty mad at myself because the comparisons are so bad.

Just know that week 1 look much nastier than week 2 did. Week 1 was very, very greasy. Now it’s more dull? It’s not as greasy but I don’t really like how it smells.

These results were achieved with the water-only method which I used because I’m notoriously lazy and because I think it’s rather unsafe for my hair if I use baking soda and vinegar on it all the time. They said something about how it doesn’t work with hard water (which is what I have in KY) but I don’t think I’m going to be continuing this experiment of mine for much longer so hopefully it won’t be a problem.

The last thing that I think is worth mentioning is that I went to my first author signing on Wednesday! Ernest Cline actually came to my town and did a signing. I was expecting a lot smaller turnout because I didn’t realize that he was so popular in my town. Then again, that’s also because the readers were all adults. I think I was the only person that was my age that was there. I also don’t get what’s so special about author signings now that I’ve been to one. I think it might be because I’m definitely not the biggest Cline fan. It made the two hour wait totally not worth it. What made it worse was the fact that I got my copy via Blogging for Books and not from our local Joseph Beth. As a result, I didn’t actually get a line ticket and had to wait until the very end to get my copy signed. I liked the experience but I can’t say that I would go to another signing unless I really really liked the author.

Displaying 20150729_222044.jpg

From here you can learn that I was so awkward. Like jeezus Kelly what is that smile??? He also proceeded to spell my last name wrong because the lady giving out the post-it notes made the e in my last name look like a u. It’s okay. I’ll just be Kelly Chun instead XD

I mean he did fix it though! I told him and he was so confused by how it could possibly look like an e. I’m with him though.

Displaying 20150731_152245_resized.jpg

books copyWHAT LOVELIES I’VE OBTAINED

Displaying 20150731_135854.jpg

Not all books I hauled are pictured!

BOOKS FINISHED FROM 7/18-8/1 AND THE TENTATIVE RATINGS

  • The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…1/2) | LOVED THIS. I don’t think I’ll be doing individual reviews for this series but I might do a series overview. Not sure what I’m feeling yet.
  • The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (β˜…β˜…β˜…) | I didn’t really like the way the series ended. It felt as if Mara didn’t care at all? I dunno. Daniel, her brother, is my favorite character though.
  • The Unbound by Victoria Schwab (β˜…β˜…β˜…) | I’m a little disappointed by this. I love Schwab and her writing but this series just isn’t clicking with me. I liked the first book but this second one? I don’t know…. Review to come.
  • Warm-up by V.E. Schwab (β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…) | I liked this little prequel to Vicious! It’s pretty short and you can read it free online!
  • Sleepaway Girls by Jen Calonita (β˜…β˜…) | VERY SAD. I’M SUPER SAD. I love a good sleepaway camp contemporary but this one was a little too much drama for me. I think it was cute but I was expecting more and it just didn’t live up to it.
  • The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler (β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…) | I read this because it was the featured full read on Pulseit! Loved it! I reviewed it but it’s not gonna be going up for a few weeks.
  • Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood (β˜…β˜…β˜…1/2) | Thanks to NOVL for this ARC. Review will be going up soon!
  • Superman and the Legion of Superheroes by Geoff Jones (β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…) | I don’t know how to review comic books but I liked it haha.

CURRENTLY READING

challenges + blog copyCHALLENGES

I’ve been participating in a couple of book challenges. I’m doing the PopSugar challenge but I haven’t been keeping up with it so I probably won’t update that one until the next Page Dancer Weekly. I’ve also been doing the Bookish Bingo board hosted by Bekka at Pretty Deadly Blog and Story Sprites hosted by Great Imaginations.

So far, this is the progress I’ve made.

I was originally just going to keep track of it by using my Goodreads account but I quickly realized that I always forget to shelve books on there. So this is gonna be how I do it instead.

Speaking of Goodreads, my current progress on that is 97/100 books although I admit that it’s because I literally read 20 volumes of manga.

STUFF YOU MIGHT HAVE MISSED ON THE BLOG


And that’s the end of my first Page Dancer Weekly! I kind of like writing these wrap ups even if they’re really long (this one is 1800+ words god). It’s like soothing y’know? I don’t know if I’m insane for liking these because they take a long time to put together but might end up with the least traffic. Let me know if there’s anything you think I could tweak with this feature!

10 comments

  1. This was so much fun to read Kelly! πŸ˜€ I loved this life update type thing πŸ™‚ Missed your prequel yesterday though. Must check it out πŸ˜‰ Haha I’m sure your dancing will get better! You’re probably the first person to tell me you didn’t enjoy a signing lol. I’ve never been to one but from what I’ve heard they’re supposed to be the best things ever and all of that good stuff. Well, I guess if you were a Mega Cline fan you would have enjoyed it more πŸ™‚ (I’ve never read any of his books. :|)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was so much fun to read!! I love this kind of life update type thing πŸ™‚ haha I’m sure your dancing will get better. I look like a dying seal while dancing lol. I think you’re the first person to ever say they did not have the best time at a signing. πŸ˜‰ though if you were a super Cline fan you may have enjoyed it moreee. :] I haven’t ever read Ernest Cline. Looking forward to more of these πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aw thanks! I was a little worried that people would find these too boring so I’m glad you enjoyed it!
    Dang I’m trying my hardest and my brother just keeps telling me, “Kelly, you look dumb.” Of course, I’m like out of breath and my only response is, “Shut up. Your face looks dumb.” That’s me. The queen of comebacks XD
    Yeah unfortunately I didn’t realize that there was so much waiting! I think I thought that signings would be so much faster than they were so I’m definitely going to keep that in mind when attending in the future.
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m really liking this new personal/bookish feature, Kelly! There’s a lot of material in here I feel like I need to address/reply about but I’ll save your eyes and make this short-ish, haha. The banner is plenty cute; but play around. Experimenting with banner-making is fun (I clearly do that a lot, lol). And omg, you’re learning Mama? That’s like crazy intense, especially the dance break. And then you’re going to try covering BTS?? What the heck, girl. You’re going to get the summer body I’ve always said I’d achieve in the beginning of each summer. But no, for real, I’m proud of you for staying active! πŸ˜€ And omo, my eyes were totally drawn to the “no-poo movement.” XD AND OMG, you bought so many Sarah Dessen books. I HOPE YOU LOVE THEM. She’s my favorite ya contemporary author. Admittedly some of them can be a hit or miss; but I (kind of) guarantee The Truth About Forever to be a wonderful, swoonworthy read! And I’m also glad you enjoyed The Summer of Chasing Mermaids. I look forward to when you release that review! Alright, like I said, there’s probably more I wanted to say but I’ll stop here! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha thanks! I’m happy that it seems to be a success because I was a bit worried that I was a little too TMI about some stuff.
    Banners are like a side project that I admittedly don’t spend enough time playing around with. Freepik is like my BFF.
    I finished Mama but I don’t look nearly as pro as the boys (obviously) and BTS dances are so much harder than I thought they’d be! I definitely underestimated them because even if their chorus looked simple, it pretty much killed my back.
    The no-poo movement has only achieved one thing for me so far. Greasy hair and me never ever touching it XD
    YES SARAH DESSEN. I’ve read all of them but I’ve always wanted to have a collection of her books. So if I see them at a store for cheap, I’m obviously gonna buy them even if the book wasn’t all that good. I got each of those babies for a dollar.
    Haha I don’t mind! I’m just happy you liked the post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lol, sometimes I feel the same way about posting TMI in my posts as well… but just think of it as this is your blog so you can post whatever you’re comfortable with sharing! After all, I’m such a stalker (in a non-creepy way, of course) and enjoy getting to know bloggers outside of their reading lives. πŸ˜›

    Oh! I honestly never heard of freepik, so thanks for putting that on my radar (like you have no idea how hard it was for me to find background pics… I literally started to use pictures I had taken because of the lack of good quality, legal ones on the internet) So thank you for mention it!

    Haha, I’m not going to even attempt to try to dance. I’d look like a jellyfish out of water (meaning I wouldn’t be able to breathe and probably would be jiggling oddly instead of dancing), lol!

    Lastly, A DOLLAR FOR EACH SD BOOK?? What the heck… Well I’ve completed my SD collection and I’m pretty sure I haven’t bought one for that cheap. I feel kind of ripped off when I see others snagging such great deals. I’m happy for you though! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m super transparent when it comes to what I share so I guess that it works out in my favor.
    Yeah I searched around on the internet for stock picture sources. There’s a lot of nice ones out there so I think you should take a look! Freepik is where I get watercolor and graphic-y designs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

