Blogger Recognition Award

bloggerrec_award

Hello everybody! Today I’m finally getting around to tackling some of the awards and tags that I’ve had sitting around because I know that if I don’t start writing them up, it’s never going to happen.

Anyways, thanks to Raven @ Dreamy Addictions for nominating me for this award!


RULES:

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
    • Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

My blog started about a year ago. I’m coming up on my first blogiversary soon although I’m not at all sure what date I started. I should probably go look that up and figure out a post for it haha! Maybe I’ll put together a giveaway or something. No clue yet!

THE STORY OF MY BLOG

I put up my first blog post around late August last year. I’d been following and reading a bunch of popular book and fashion blogs (Xpresso Reads, Effortlessly Reading, The Notebook Sisters (now Paper Fury), etc.). I loved both books and fashion but I knew that I would never actually want to make a fashion blog. As much as I like matching up outfits, I don’t actually like taking pictures of myself in those said outfits nor do I think I’d enjoy talking about what I was wearing in a post. So that left book blogging. I had already written a few baby reviews for Goodreads. I was curious to take the plunge to see how difficult it would be to manage a book blog because I really liked reading. So after experimenting with the WordPress editors and stuff until the early hours of the morning, I put up my first posts. The first thing I put up were a few book reviews (which are horrendous like dear lord). I’ve hardly made as much growth as other bloggers have made in a year but I’m still learning and figuring out new ways to make my blog better. Baby steps.

For my blog name, although I’ve written about why I picked it before, it can’t hurt to mention it again.

I love dancing. I’ve done ballet since I was about three and even if I’m definitely not the best dancer, I enjoy it. To be quite honest, I like hip hop and jazz a lot more but my hometown doesn’t offer many choices in terms of dance. For now, I’ll get my fix out of Just Dance and dancing along to mirrored versions of my favorite Kpop dances. On top of that, I have an absurd amount of confidence to look dumb and do whatever the hell I want in front of my classmates. That includes dancing. So during my middle school years, I was pretty much known as “that Asian chick that likes dancing” from both my closer classmates and the people I wasn’t too familiar with.

I also like reading (obviously) and to me, getting stuck in a book and the rate at which you read and feel emotions is akin to dancing. Thus, “Dancing Through the Pages”. Super cheesy but I liked it when I created it and I still do.


ANY ADVICE?

To be quite honest, I don’t feel very qualified to give advice to other people. My blog isn’t super popular and I’m not a huge fan of social media. I don’t post everyday because I know I’ll get burned out really quickly that way. I’ll try my best though!

  1. Don’t worry about what others think of your blog. By that I mean, don’t write blog posts and design your blog solely for others. Even if you need to adjust font to make it readable or design it to make it easier to navigate, don’t lose yourself and what you like while doing so.
    I promise you that if you’re feeling insecure about something, other people probably don’t notice. Just  be yourself and take blogging at your own pace. I’m only just starting to make graphics and interact with others. It’s a learning process.
  2. Don’t get hung up on numbers and expectations! If you’re just starting out, you probably aren’t going to get 5000 followers in a single month. A lot of bloggers, including myself, get burnt out from blogging just because of the stress of numbers and posting. If you need to take a break, don’t hesitate to take a hiatus. Blogging should be a fun, creative outlet for you. Enjoy it!
  3. One of the best things about blogging is interacting with other bloggers. Even though I’m hardly someone that should be giving this out as advice (really I need to take my own advice), interacting with other people can be rewarding and fun. Don’t be intimidated! They’re real people just like you.
  4. Do what you think is best for you. Your blog should be an extension of yourself. Experiment with it!
  5. Always edit your post at least once before publishing it. I can’t even begin to count the number of times where I’ll publish a post before realizing that I wrote something that didn’t communicate well. If you are starting to get tunnel vision from staring at it too long, send it to a friend to edit! Oh and use the “Preview” function to check the overall appearance of your post before publishing!

I NOMINATE (not 15, but 6 bloggers that deserve the award):

As always, if you have already been nominated and do not want to do it again, feel free to ignore me.

Ok so I just realized that I really don’t follow all that many book blogs that I actively check. I’m the type that takes an hour to check my feed twice a week and comment bomb everybody. This is a problem. If you guys have any suggestions for awesome blogs I should go check out or just want to leave your URL down below, I’d definitely be okay with that!

9 comments

  1. Wow. So you kind of stole my idea (unintentionally) since I was going to post this award when I reached my one year blogoversary. Being the creeper I am, I looked through your archives and saw you still have a little over a week before you reach yours but HAPPY EARLY BLOGOVERSARY, KELLY! 😀 I guess I kind of already knew your blogging story but I loved reading your start again anyways. And your advice is wonderful. I know before you mentioned you had some insecurities with being younger than most bloggers, but your writing is always so mature and better than most older adults. Your hard work and time spent on your blog really does show. (And yes, the edit at least once before publishing is a must tip (but often left out by other bloggers (oh my gosh, how many parentheses am I going to use??)). I edit several times and still miss spelling/grammatical errors…)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. XD Sorry, Summer! You can totally still post it when you reach your blogoversary! I look forward to reading your advice and story 🙂
    Oh wow it’s really sad that you know my blogoversary before I do. I really should put that on my calendar for the future. I guess I should start planning a post for it lol.
    Aw thanks! I’m glad that that you think so!
    I relate so much to your thing about the parentheses because I use them so much. Almost every post before I edit. I’d like to say that I edit multiple times but I end up going back and finding sentences that don’t totally make sense.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

