Page Dancer Weekly | Chapter II: Volunteering + The Start of School

page dancer weekly experiment 2 copy

As always, this covers the past two weeks (8/2-8/15).

THE HIGHLIGHTS OF THIS UPDATE

  • I volunteered for a week at a nearby museum!
  • School started again and it absolutely sucked.
  • I gave up on “No-Poo” and this is why.


life copyI’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback on this feature and I’m super happy about it! I like that you guys seem to enjoy hearing about my life because I enjoy writing about it. Although I love writing about reading and books, it’s a nice change from it. This week I tried out a slightly different design. I’m experimenting with different shapes of banners!

So I started volunteering at the nearby center in which I help assist a woman I know with teaching a small Chinese dance class. It was absolute chaos since her teaching is a little disorganized. I mean, she’s a great person and I myself take lessons from her. If you’re not used to it, her teaching can definitely get a little frustrating. The kids were so cute though! It was so adorable watching them learn and dance. They had a performance at the end of the week and it was super cute! The only thing that I thought was a little bleh was the fact that the teacher pretty much told me that I had to perform a Chinese dance we did earlier this year in their recital so the kids had time to do a costume change. If you ask me, a little bit of warning would have been greatly appreciated. It’s over now, because it was for a week-long camp but I definitely enjoyed it while it lasted.

My reading has been quite nonexistent lately. It sucks because I really need to read a few ARCs and make a dent in my library books.

Besides the fact that I’m in the middle of a reading slump, I also started a new K-drama. I usually end up watching about three a year but once I get into the mood for a drama, the only thing that can stop it is watching one. I’m watching Iljimae which is like my current obsession. It’s really good and the actors are all so attractive! It sucks but I haven’t been able to watch it because school started.

As for the “no-poo” thing I mentioned in the last update… hah about that… I might have cracked about four days after the update. My brother kept teasing me and trying to get me to crack but he finally succeeded when he took out a bottle of one of my favorite shampoos that my dad brings back from Japan with the words, “Hey Kelly! I took out a bottle of that rose shampoo you like so go wash your hair.” It smells really good. At that point in time, I was starting to get annoyed with the perpetual greasiness of my hair even if I did like the volume I got from the nasty oil. I took pictures prior to washing it though! But it sort of defeats the purpose of this experiment XD

Who knows? Maybe I’ll try this experiment again one day but at this point, I like my Shiseido Rosarium shampoo too much.

Otherwise, school has started. And I kind of hate it. The only thing that made it slightly better was that I liked my first day of school outfit and that my friend was finally able to give me what she got for me on her trip to New York!

They were these adorable handmade book earrings! Like omg they were so cute! I’m currently in love with these earrings because I think they look adorable. Sometimes, I think that things such as book earrings can come off looking tacky but I love how these don’t give off the same feeling.

But right now I can’t wear them because my piercings are infected. That doesn’t mean I can’t give them a photoshoot though!

Displaying 20150815_181812_resized.jpg

Displaying 20150815_181858_resized.jpg

School has only just started so I’m far from really being slammed by the workload. However, at this point, I feel extremely disorganized since I haven’t really developed a system to organize everything. I usually base my process off of my classes and how much we need for each one. I’m a little scared about the workload because good lord 4 AP classes. I’m pretty sure I want early death. PRAY FOR ME GUYS.


books copyDisplaying 20150815_182109_resized.jpg

WHAT LOVELIES I’VE OBTAINED

THE STUFF FINISHED (8/2-8/15)

  • Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson (★★★★) | SUPER CUTE. I’ve noticed that Matson really likes adding music playlists into her books and I like it. The romance was a little abrupt but it was pretty cute overall. Not sure if I’m reviewing this one but it was really good!

This section is pitiful. I absolutely hate reading slumps.

CURRENTLY READING

challenges + blog copy

I’ve made progress with two spaces on the bingo board but no progress on the Story Sprites.

For my Goodreads challenge I’ve read 98/100 books. I’m so close to finishing!


IN CASE YOU MISSED IT……


 Besides the fact that school makes me want to curl up into a ball and die, I’m hoping to read a lot more soon. And I cannot get over how CUTE those book earrings are! I’m definitely going to be wearing them a lot in the future.

So tell me. How was your week?

13 comments

  1. I’m really liking this experimentation of banners thing, Kelly. This one was very appropriate for the start of school. I don’t go back until next Thursday-what a bummer, I feel like my summer flew by since I was so busy. I’m sorry to hear that this school year hasn’t been that great so far for you, hopefully it’ll get better.

    AND oh my gosh, 4 APs?? Girl, why are you torturing yourself? Then again I took 4 in my junior year as well, so yeah. It was such a tough year, but I promise you, it’s worth it. Especially when you go to a college that accepts your AP courses (of course, it depends how strict that school is with the scores, but I’m sure you’ll do fine)!

    LOL, Japanese rose shampoo is your kryptonite. Got it. I’m sure it smells lovely. 😉

    Lastly, 98 BOOKS? What is this sorcery? But I’m proud of you for finishing your 2015 reading goal when it’s only August. That’s awesome! And while we’re on the letter A (with August and awesome, haha), did you notice that the majority of your library book haul started with that letter? 😛

    Like

  2. Omg really? It aired in… 2009 I think? I was super young back then (like 9) so even if I wanted to watch it, I wouldn’t have known about it. It’s really good though. And yeah I get what you mean about the bg music! I actually love the OST a lot.

    Like

  3. Thanks! I’m debating if I should change it up every update. It’d be more work, but I’m not sure what I’d use to represent it as a whole.
    I’m hoping it does because if I remember correctly, Junior year is supposed to be the worst, according to upperclassmen.
    I said it in the post and I’ll say it again. I WANT EARLY DEATH. Jk. I’d like to think that I can handle having a large workload but I end up finding myself regretting it a lot afterwards. It’s only one more than I took last year so it can’t possibly be that bad… right? I only have two APs a day (my school is on block schedule) so it’s balanced. It’s slightly better that way.
    Any good shampoo is my kryptonite. But espcially Japanese rose shampoo XD
    *coughs* I marathoned almost a whole manga. So that’s like twenty books right there LOL.
    No. *scrolls up to post* Well I see it now XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh…school starts tomorrow for me and I am so not ready. #dead
    Good luck with your AP classes – it sounds like you have your work cut out for you but I’m sure you’ll be great.
    Thanks for sharing and great post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, I think all of your banners have been really nice so far! The experimentation is great as long as your still up for it. The only thing I’m worried about is the media limit. I’ve already reached 17% in less than a year. :/

    Junior year was my most difficult year personally. I think it is for the majority of students. Plus, colleges mainly look at your progress for that year. Oh my gosh, three in your sophomore year?? I took APs every year but my junior year was the most rigorous for sure. Anyway, I hope you do well! I’m sure you’ll be fine!

    Ahh. Speaking of manga… I’m so behind on the ones I used to follow. Are you caught up with Skip Beat?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t even looked at my media limit god… I’m hoping that I can get by for a while before having to upgrade my WordPress account. I mean, I definitely want to at some point, but I’m broke and don’t want to make my parents fund it. :/
    I think a lot of people are saying that Junior year is the most difficult which… is actually very worrying to me because if Sophomore year is this horrible, Junior year is going to be literal hell.
    Well it was technically three in my freshman year XD I’m a sophomore.
    I am! It took me a while but once you’re caught up it really sucks because it’s like… one update every 1-2 months. Like the manga has been going on for like SIX years. Shouldn’t Kyoko end up with Tsuruga/Corn/Kuon/Fairy Prince by now?!
    I’m trying to find more mangas to read but I’m not feeling anything. I want to get into shounen but shoujo is just so much more fun to read for me. Are you reading anything else?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. MY GOSH. That’s so awesome! I graduated with 9 APs and thought that was a lot, but you’re going to surpass that soon. If you took three in your freshman year, you shouldn’t have anything to worry about next year as a junior. 🙂 At the rate you’re moving, they may not even have enough APs for you. 😉

    This is going to be so random (sorry!)… I was a contributing blogger to several blogs for my high school but I always wanted to start a blog. But when I think of the workload… it’s probably best I didn’t. It’s seriously commendable and marvelous that you’re able to balance both (blogging and being an honors student that is). Just wanted to say that!

    And oh my gosh, YES. I feel like I’m going to be 30 before Tsuruga (my gosh, how many names does he have? lol) and Kyoko end up together.

    Me too. I watched Claymore so I thought about giving that one a try but it’s really old. Attack on Titan is another I want to give a go. But I relate, shoujo is just so fluffy and ridiculously cute albeit unrealistic. XD

    But no, I’ve stopped reading manga since I started college. The only one I occasionally keep up with is Skip Beat (and sometimes I check if Ai Yazawa has updated Nana).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dude I’m just terrified that I’ll get an awful score on my SAT/ACT because of all the work I get with my classes. Definitely going to be spending some time studying for them over breaks and stuff because otherwise I’m screwed for vocabulary. It’s nice to have the reassurance that if I’m used to it, Junior year won’t be all that bad though! 🙂
    Nah it’s okay! Spontaneity is fun. I think it’s cool that you contributed to multiple blogs back then. Right now, I see other blogs asking around for cobloggers all the time and while I want to apply for them, I don’t think I’d be able to produce content for multiple blogs and I wouldn’t want to let them down. So I have a lot of respect for Aentee for putting herself out there to coblog with other people!
    XD Tsuruga and Kyoko are both idiots in their own ways. Especially in the recent chapters because I feel like they’re gonna get together soon. IT’S ALL A MATTER OF TIME NOW.
    I just want to get back around to Fullmetal Alchemist. My friend owned all the volumes but at the time, she had a huge queue of people waiting to read them so I just gave up. I didn’t like the stress of trying to finish them!
    I’ve heard of Nana but I’ve never read it. Maybe I’ll give it a try!
    ACTUALLY you should read Tower of God! It’s a webtoon/manhwa that’s made by this Korean guy and it’s really good!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. As long as you take a look at the blue collegeboard SAT book you’ll be fine. The subject tests aren’t so bad either. And defiantly take the ACT if you get a chance. People that do well on the SAT often get an even higher equivalency score on the ACT; I think it’s a little easier. Anyways, you’ll do fine! 🙂

    Ahh, I know! I’m so excited for Aentee and her contribution to The Social Potato! I know she’ll have a blast using that creative mind of hers. And it’s amazing she’s doing this with work and everything too.

    And I love Nana so so so much. You must read it sometime, Kelly. The feels and tears, oh man. 😥 Also, thanks for the recommendation! I just added Tower of God to my reading list, so l probably will read it during winter break. I have yet to try a manhwa so I’m looking forward to it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

