Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

Top Ten Tuesday Attempt #1 pic versionTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.

This Week’s Topic: Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With


I think it’s really sad how easy it was for me to come up with a list of these.

And if I’m looking through this list, I can see a trend with these. Sort of? Well I’m just a hard person to please when it comes to characters that I absolutely love.

You guys are probably going to kill me with because of some of the names on this list. PLEASE DON’T KILL ME I’M A GOOD PERSON I SWEAR.

Edit: This list is more like a list of protagonists I found insufferably annoying. So I guess for me, the topic would be more appropriately be, “Ten Characters You Not Only Didn’t Click With, But Don’t Ever Want To Click With Because You’d Rather They Not Exist.” Okay that’s a little mean. Sorry to the book characters.


The Archived (The Archived, #1)Mackenzie Bishop from The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Watch me as I try to mention Victoria Schwab in every post ever.

Although, I love Mac’s boyfriend (WESLEY AYERS COME TO MEEEEE), Mac was one of the biggest reasons that I didn’t end up loving The Archived. I find her a little too moody and bland. She’s totally badass when it comes to fighting and stuff but in the first book, she was too angsty and in the second book, she was also too angsty. I did like how mentally deranged she was in The Unbound, though. However, I’ve read other reviews and found that Mac totally worked for them! So it’s most likely just a me thing.


We Were LiarsCadence from We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Review

Okay this entire book didn’t appeal to me. Some people loved Cadence. I on the other hand, hated Cadence. She felt too pretentious and dramatic for me. No.

Oh and on top of the pretentious attitude, I also felt like she was a disgraceful brat that was too weepy. Her theatrics just did not appeal to me.


Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Celaena Sardothien from The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
Review

If you read my review for Throne of Glass, you would find that Celaena Sardothien ended up coming off too cocky for her own good. She was just too arrogant, too childish, and too UGH. No level of badassery will fix my opinion of her unless she becomes more bearable.

I wouldn’t say that I hate her. It’s just that she’s one of those characters that can come off differently to people. And for me, she was just too much.

She doesn’t deserve Chaol’s love. Or Dorian’s. Just saying


Lola AND Isla from the Anna and the French Kiss series by Stephanie Perkins
Review of Lola | Review of Isla

I loved the first book more. Anna was more relatable, even if she was very dumb. Lola and Isla both annoyed me to no end. Lola was childish in a way that didn’t work for me. Isla was… I don’t even remember what I thought of her! I just remember that whatever it was, it didn’t work for me.


Eleanor and ParkEleanor from Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell Review

Lots of people say that they loved Eleanor. I, on the other hand, found that her personality grated on me a ton. She seemed to lash out too much for me. I had a lot of problems with the way she took care of herself, her emotions, and her family. At the time, I really hated her personality but now, it’s more of a general dislike.

I think I liked Park a tad bit more than Eleanor but i didn’t really connect that much with him either.


To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)Lara Jean from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Review

Too childish, too naive, did not work for me. Sorry. She acted selfish at times, indecisive at others, and was just a big ball of NOOOO for me.

I’m hoping that my opinion on her changes more in the second book, P.S. I Love You but I’m not going to expect a ton of differences.


RoomJack from Room by Emma Donahue

For this book, the author did a great job of personifying a little kid. The dialogue and thoughts were very very realistic. The only problem was that to me, it felt like reading a little kid book. I felt awkward reading about more adult topics through the voice of a little boy. It certainly did a goo job of showing how a little boy could be traumatized by an experience but it can also be off-putting to some people. Oh and they’re making a movie off of this one too!


RumbleMattfrom Rumble by Ellen Hopkins
Review

I liked the themes explored within this book but found that I couldn’t connect to Matt at all. I remember having a love-hate relationship with his character. Like at one point I’d feel really bad for him then at another point, I’d want to punch him in the face. Honestly, I’m not too sure but I just remember that I didn’t really connect with him all that much.


The Night CircusCelia and Marco from The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Review

This book suffers from one thing that absolutely kills me. It’s one of the most atmospheric books I have ever read. I love it when a book has such good world building that you’re able to imagine yourself in it. You can smell and feel everything that’s going on. However, the characters, Celia and Marco, were incredibly flat. I didn’t like the romance and I never connected with either of these characters. It really sucks because if the characters had been fully developed, it’s likely that I would have giving this book more than the score it got.


June from the Legend Series by Marie Lu

As much as I loved Day (well I did until the later books), I never, never ended up liking June. I don’t even know why! Part of it’s her name. It reminded me of an old figure skating coach I had that was a little… unreasonable? Her personality was also very stiff from what I remember (not much). As the books continued, I liked June less and less. I had a huge book crush on Day though. Until the later books when my enjoyment just continuously decreased :/


I kinda wish this topic was more positive but the entire point of it is to mention characters that didn’t work for you! And unfortunately, I ended up really disliking a lot of those popular characters.

Did you agree with me for any of these? What are some characters that didn’t work for you?

10 comments

  1. Celaena improves in Crown of Midnight, way less exclamation marks!!! and ridiculous antics. I sorta like her now haha. But I agreed that she was sorta awful in Throne of Glass.

    Omg The Night Circus sounded so amazing on paper but everyone in the book bored me to tears.

    Like

  2. Lol I’m not going to kill you because I’m the one so behind on her TBR that she hasn’t read any of these books yet! But I can see why you fear these books are obsessed about! Lol just wish I could chime in on agreement or not. Feel free to check out my list. I’m sure you’ve read most of those. Haha.

    Like

  3. Do you know how much better I feel after someone else listed Celaena Sardothien? I use to get a lot of angry comments when I mentioned this, which drove me further away from the character.

    Like

  4. It makes me so happy that there are other people that get irritated by her! I just finished Crown of Midnight and people said she’d get better but now, instead of her being simply cocky and annoying, she’s been upgraded to batshit crazy and annoying. So. Obviously, my opinion of her has just gotten worse.
    It sucks that people couldn’t just get over your opinion because that’s what it is. An opinion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

