[Review] Simon Vs. The Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Series: None
Publication: April 7th, 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Number of Pages: 303
Genre: Contemporary, LGBTQ, Romance
Source: Bought from Barnes & Noble
Rating: ★★★★1/2

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository


Summary

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


Review

(Highlight to see spoilers)

CUTE.

Okay so I wasn’t expecting literary greatness from this book. I wanted a fun, cute, feel-good contemporary that I knew I’d like. And yeah I got it. So I’m just going to most likely go on to flail uncontrollably about how much I absolutely loved this book.

Simon is one-of-a-kind. Simon is queen. Simon is freaking hilarious. He’s well characterized and flawed. He loves Harry Potter (who doesn’t?) and talks about fandom teenager stuff and ugh I loved it. He’s like the best guy friend that I’ve always wanted. He’s sassy as fuck and has an amazing story and voice to go with it.

I wish his friends were slightly more developed. There were a few that we only got to see a brief glimpse of. While the relationships they had with Simon were well done, the character themselves were quite flat. I wish that wasn’t the case because some of them had a lot of potential.

BLUE IS BAE. He’s such a sweet guy! We learn so much about him through the emails and his character is so well done. At the end, when we finally figure out who he is, it’s as if we knew him the whole time because well, we did. I wasn’t really trying to figure out who Blue was. I didn’t want to break my head trying to crack the clues at the time and I kind of figured it’d be someone “unexpected” but it was so entertaining reading about how Simon freaked out about everything. Their relationship was really cute.

I felt like there was the use of a lot of tropes in the book. There were the drama queens, the nerds, the jocks, etc. etc. I wasn’t expecting They all felt one-dimensional to me but there were a few that broke the mold and surprised me in the end with their actions. Very much appreciated because not all of them are the same! At one point, Taylor, a drama club member that was labelled over and over as being a show-off and brat was shown to actually care for her fellow club members. During a rehearsal, a bunch of jocks went in and began to bully Simon. Taylor was one of the people that immediately jumped off stage and went to confront them. It was totally unexpected and made me love how the author went on to show that tropes are only shallow representations of a real character.

I also have a small bone to pick with one aspect of the plot. Obviously, at some point, Simon’s secret gets out. While I loved the overwhelming support he received from his friends and family, I thought it was a bit unrealistic for his school to react as such. By that I mean the bullying was a little candy-coated and mild. Although I think that, I’m still pretty happy about it because the book itself was so fun to read.

Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda has been getting a lot of reviews about how cute it was (And I agree! I mean, everything I said above is pretty much about how cute it was) but I wanna talk about the themes and messages in the book.

On the surface, it looks like your everyday LGBTQ romance. But Simon’s revelations and the things that I learned and realized from the book were just as monumental as the impact it had on my mood. Simon is flawed. He’s not the best friend. He’s a little impulsive. What ended up triggering some of the changes he has is the realization that he doesn’t always know anything about anybody. I related to this so much. All through middle school I felt really awkward around some of my classmates. They always formed large friend groups where they only kind of knew things about each other. And I never understood this. I’d rather have a few best friends than a bunch that I didn’t know too well. I’m getting a bit off topic but the point is that I understood how Simon felt when he realized that he didn’t know anything about his friends. And naturally, it made me wonder if the people I thought were my best friends considered me their’s.

So while there were some parts that were treated too simply (bullying), the other parts made me really think about myself. This book is definitely, without a doubt, is one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read in a while. Equal parts cute and memorable, Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda isn’t perfect but it’s a great book for anybody feeling down. I loved it!


I got a little personal in that review. I hope it doesn’t bother you guys but I just really needed to include it. It wouldn’t have felt right otherwise. I’m also really tempted to just bump it up half a star to make it five stars but I feel like although it was close, it’s not completely there yet. I don’t know. Maybe I’m just too picky. -.-

I know this book has been pretty big around the community! What did you guys think of it?

16 comments

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! This is definitely the cutest book I’ve ever read. I rated it 3.5 stars but maybe it should have been a 4! Agree with you about the tropes, it kind of made it stereotypical and also the bullying aspect. Good point – I liked that Taylor stood up for Simon. I adored Simon, but yes he is rather impulsive. I would consider him my fictional best friend XD Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you loved it! I think I agree with everything in your review-especially the way the school reacted the way they did after the secret spread. However, though Simon is impulsive and vert much flawed, he would be my best friend. 😉 And aww, Kelly, I actually can relate about the friends thing. I feel much more comfortable on the internet but I’m a very quiet and shy person in real life. I’d much rather have close friends than a ton of acquaintances as well.

    Loved this review, Kelly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad you liked this one so much Kelly! I completely agree with everything you’ve said – it is absolutely adorable and the romance and characters were absolutely amazing. So glad you felt the same way. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It was just one of those books that I gravitated towards for some reason and I’m glad that I finally picked it up. I’m actually really happy that I fell into the majority opinion for this one because I think I would have been so miserable if I hadn’t. But then again I think it’s almost impossible to not like this book if you’re into YA contemporary :3 Thanks, Zoe! I’m sorry for not being able to check out your blog but I have it out in a tab so I’ll definitely get around to it some time soon!

    Like

  5. I think that people don’t give this book enough credit for how deep it gets into some issues. Like maybe not so much the LGBTQ acceptance aspect as much as other books but it definitely gets into self-confidence and friend relationships. Simon was like a perfect character and yeah he’d probably be my best friend in real life too. I think we’d have a relationship where he’d do something dumb and I’d just be like, “Dude. Just. Stop,” before promptly join in and do the said dumb action with him XD
    Yeah, I’m the same. Well you know that because of the review but I don’t get huge cliques!
    Thanks, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can see why you’d rate it lower, especially if the issues that I mentioned bothered you more. I think that for me, although I saw the tropes and stuff, in the end, my personal enjoyment ended up making me bump up my rating a lot higher.
    I’ve always wondered if I would be able to stand being friends with Simon in real life. I’m pretty tolerant but I have no clue if I’d love him as much as I do.
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This book sounds so freaking adorable. I am not quite sure why I haven’t read it yet as every single time I see it on someone’s site, I am like MUST PURCHASE. I am glad you had a lot of fun with it, despite the relative lack of believability surrounding his coming out. However, I hope we will soon live in a world where no one needs to come out and everyone will be loved and supported for being them, instead of for their sexuality.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Same! I like that not all authors market their book as a LGBTQ novel because sexuality is something that is part of each character and it’s not the only thing about it. I think that eventually we’ll get to the point where it’ll become as accepted as heterosexuality.
    You definitely should read it! It’s really cute!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

