[Movie Review] Gone Girl

Just finished the movie today! I had a snow day so I didn’t have any school. I just sat down and watched it.

Keep in mind that I’m not at all certified to make statements about the film quality. My opinion is purely from the opinion of a reader and movie watcher.

I was really surprised by the movie’s portrayal of Amy. When I was reading the book, I didn’t get the feeling that she was as cold and detached as the movie version. I envisioned a completely different person. I thought a character that was difficult to read and hid her emotions really well. I thought that Amy would have acted more superficially cheerful and less calculative. Especially in the beginning of their marriage. I didn’t think that Amy would have acted so.. robotic. I honestly expected a bigger flip in personality than I saw in the movie. Nonetheless, I respect each actor’s portrayal of a character. Rosamund Pike’s version of Amy was just as believable as what I had pictured. But I do think that the journal writing was really well done. Is it weird if I liked watching her write in a notebook? I really liked her handwriting

I think this is the first Ben Affleck film I’ve watched but I already don’t like him. I didn’t really like his acting or the portrayal of Nick. Nick certainly came off as a douchebag but I didn’t really think that all levels of his character were communicated through the movie.

The romance was definitely messed up. No wait. I liked the romance. The proposal in the beginning of the movie was probably the cutest thing ever (although I don’t think it was in the book). The romance in the beginning, with the young love and dating was super cute. It contrasted really well with the end of their marriage. I think the emotions felt really suppressed during some parts but that might just be because I didn’t like the acting. Overall, the romance wasn’t mediocre. But it was the type of romance that made you want to punch the characters for being so stupid.

I agree, Amy.

Fave character in the movie was Go. I liked Go in the book and I really liked Go’s portrayal in the movie. Her character was a breath of fresh air, believable, and tough. She was supportive and realistic. I related to her character a lot. I think a lot of the things she said would make fantastic gifs and screencaps. I just wish that the relationship between Go and Nick hadn’t been as forced in the movie.

Pretty sure she had this moment at least five times in the movie. You and me both, Go. I just love her character.

Obviously the movie took some scenes from the book out; almost all book to movie adaptations have to. This book was about 400 pages long and the movie around 2 hours and 20 minutes long. If they had included everything, it would have been ridiculously long. The movie included nearly every important scene. It changed some stuff to make it shorter, or more understandable. But it was a really good adaptation. The tone was almost identical to what I was experiencing during the book.

The only thing I can say that I was a little bored throughout the movie. It was probably because I had read the book and knew exactly when everything was going to happen. The stuff that was supposed to be surprising wasn’t surprising at all. The ending, like in the book, felt a little anticlimatic but it was significantly more bearable.

So, overall, a pretty good adaptation! Reading the book helps someone understand the emotions and reasons behind the characters some more. In this case, I feel like it wouldn’t have mattered if I read the book or the movie first. It would all depend on if I prefer books or movies more. If I like reading more, then I read the book first because I don’t want to get spoiled and vice versa for the movie.

If I were to give this a rating, it’d be somewhere around 3-3.5 stars out of 5 (as a movie adaptation of a book, not necessarily film quality).

3 comments

  1. Great review, I wasn’t a fan of Ben Affleck’s performance either! Mind checking out my site and some reviews and maybe my website a follow? I just followed yours! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

