The Summertime Madness Book Tag

Summertime Madness Book Tag

Woooo! Summer is ending and school has already started.

Cue ugly sobbing.

Kim Soohyun CryingSo I figured I should probably get this Summertime Madness Tag out of the way because I don’t really wanna post it in the dead of winter three months from now. That would just depress me because it’d be cold outside. Actually I prefer the cold to the hot so maybe it wouldn’t? I’m starting to get off track don’t mind me XD

I was tagged by Analee at Book Snacks to do this tag! Thanks, girl~

Edit: I was also tagged a few days ago by Summer at Xingsings!

Both of these bloggers have great blogs, so be sure to check them out!


1. Show a book with a summery cover!

I loved Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. Her book would be my go-to book for a summery contemporary novel. The hardcover also has a book jacket with a gorgeous picture printed on the inside. So much book love. You can read my babbling and complete fangirling of a review here.

2. Pick one fictional place that would be the perfect destination for a summer vacation!

Isn’t Colby from Sarah Dessen’s novels a fictional place? I’m pretty sure that I read somewhere that she said that those were fictional towns based on real places. Besides the fact that all of her love interests are swoonworthy (and I’d totally try to stalk the couples like a creepy fangirl), Colby is a beach town so I’d go there! There’s also a guarantee that I probably wouldn’t die from freak monster attacks because it’s a contemporary novel.

3. You’re about to go on a flight to your summer vacation. But you want to read a book that lasts for the whole flight, what novella do you choose?

To be honest, I would never pick a novella for a flight. When I hear “flight” and “summer vacation” together in one sentence, it usually equates to a plane flight that is anywhere from 2-20 hours long. Flights from the US to China take a long time. Plus I read novellas really quickly. I’d say that I could finish one in under an hour if it was short.

Now I’m usually the goody-two-shoes kid that reads the summer reading book the first two weeks of break. So I’d probably be reading that on the plane. If I’d finished that book, I’d pick something that is pretty thick but not overly hefty. 350 pages maybe? I don’t have any book in mind but I’d probably pick something that I hadn’t read before. And probably fantasy. As great as contemporaries are, I think I’d be reading fantasy books on a plane. So right now I’m thinking that I’d probably bring Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes. The book is pretty long and it’s a fantasy novel that can stand as a standalone!

an ember in4. You have a case of summertime sadness what happy book do you pick up to shine a smile on your face?

I can think of a lot of books for this. Right now, the first one that comes to mind is, Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda. It’s so so adorable! Simon is hilarious and amazing and sassy. Love him.

simon vs. homo

I’d also read some adorable romance book or pick up a hilarious contemporary. Cute romance never fails to make me happy. I don’t think I’d start a new book though. I wouldn’t want to potentially make my mood worse by reading a bad book.

And this is totally unrelated to books, but knowing me, I’d go on a fanfiction binge and reread a lot of funny ones. One EXO fanfic that I love (that is completely hilarious) is “Office Antics” by areumdaun. Unfortunately, it’s been discontinued but I still periodically reread what the author has posted.

Office Antics - main story image

5. You’re sitting at the beach all alone…which fictional character would be your beach babe?

I usually prefer the nerdy, geeky characters but I think for this one, I’ll pick someone that’s not like that I’d pick someone like Chaol from the Throne of Glass series or…. screw it, let’s go with nerdy characters. I loved Max from The Start of Me and You. He’s a little quirky and hilarious. I think he’d be such an entertaining companion for the beach because we could debate over so many ridiculous topics.

6. To match your ice cream you want an icy cool sidekick! Which fictional side kick do you pick?

I told myself that I wouldn’t pick anything related to Dessen again because I was tempted to do it for another question but I can’t resist. For this one, I pick Layla from Saint Anything. I didn’t review this book because I didn’t really want it, but I did really enjoy it. I especially liked the dynamic between Layla and Sydney. She’s so supportive and kickass. I’d want her to be my BFF. We’d also be able to eat french fries and ice cream together! I’ve always liked eating milkshakes and french fries together. Milkshakes are like drink versions of ice cream so I think it’d work out fabulously.


I’ll be tagging…..

  • Aentee at Read at Midnight
  • Aimal at Bookshelves & Paperbacks
  • Audrey at Forewords and Bookwards
  • Chooi at Read, Think, Ponder
  • Lia at BookLand
  • And you, if you want to do it!

I still suck at tagging people. This is literally me going through my blogroll and adding blogs that I don’t remember doing this tag onto a list XD So obviously, if you’ve already done it, feel free to ignore me.

Also, it’s kind of sad that summertime is ending. I think it’s horrible that in the US we have to go through first semester finals during a miserably cold period of time. I vote for no finals. Or AP tests. Or any tests for that matter.

8 comments

  1. Ahhh, thank you for the tag, Kelly! ❤

    Hmmm I haven't read any of the books that you've mentioned! I need to get my butt to work and get reading! I might have to put off this tag for a loooong time, since it is winter here at the moment! But I shall draft it up – can't wait to share my answers. C:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg, The Moon Embracing the Sun! T.T I used to watch a lot of dramas in high school, but now when I do watch a drama I lean towards the historical ones. XD Do you ever watch Chinese drams too? My favorite is Bu Bu Jing Xin I think it’s called. And omg, the feels. I literally cried in that drama so much… and then I found out it was originally a novel… that doesn’t have a English translation published. -__- Gosh, this isn’t a drama post. I’m veering off track…

    Anyway, awesome answers, Kelly! Since You’ve Been Gone is an appropriate choice for the summer! And I have The Start of you and Me on my kindle; I can’t wait to read it (the cover has a nice, pretty rainbow-like filter if I’m not mistaken. I love pretty covers, hehe). ^.^

    Like

  3. KIM SOOHYUN IS AMAZING AMIRIGHT?
    I don’t watch a lot of TV, rather I go on a periodic marathon with one show (the most recent being Iljimae… which I still need to finish)
    Well I probably should because I’m Chinese but the acting and style of Chinese dramas just doesn’t appeal to me. I’ve tried watching Han Zhu Gege because it was like the drama to watch if you were a Chinese girl. I’ve heard of Bu Bu Jing Xing! My mom hates it but I know a lot of my friends have watched it.
    Well it makes sense that they wouldn’t translate it but yeah I get how it sucks. I used to be really unhappy when Japanese light novels weren’t translated so I get how you feel!
    You should definitely read The Start of Me and You! It was incredibly cute!
    On a side note, I don’t own a kindle and I’m starting to regret not getting one back when I was a book-only snob.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh! Actually I remember you talking about Iljimae in one of your Page Dancer Weekly posts, I think. I haven’t seen that one and probably won’t anytime soon. It’s pretty old, I remember my friends talking about that one in middle school.

    AND OH MY GOSH, WHAT?!! Bu Bu Jing Xing is so omg. Also I love Liu Shi Shi, she’s just too cute, haha.

    And it’s okay that you don’t have one. I honestly hardly use mine unless netgalley sends me something. But the Kindle Daily Deals are steals. (Haha, that rhymes…)

    Like

  5. It definitely is old. Like circa 2009 or something lol. But it’s gorgeously done for when it aired so I really like it so far.
    I’m just that type of person when it comes to Chinese dramas XD I can’t stand the voices. I’m pretty sure it’s genetic because my mom dislikes it as well. Well I just asked her again because she’s nearby and apparently now she thinks it’s “okay”. So. Thank you, mom.
    LOL I just have a Kindle app on my Samsung and that works find except when it’s blinding me with the bright screen at night because the screen brightness feature doesn’t work on that app.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment