Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

Top Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want to

Visit

50ab0-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday, participating book bloggers blog about their top ten lists.


Ohhhh this one is going to be fun. I can’t even begin to count the number of places I’ve wanted to visit because of books.

1. Anna and the French Kiss – Paris France

I’ve always wanted to go to Paris for a number of reasons. It sounds beautiful, it’s the fashion capital of the world, they have ballet, art, music, and all sorts of stuff! There’s so many things that you can do in France. The French boarding schools plus Anna’s fun personality only reaffirmed my want to go there.

IT LOOKS BOOTIFUUULLLLLL.

2. The Sister’s Grimm Series (Michael Buckley) – The Hall of Wonders

A hall full of artifacts from every single fairytale? Sign me up for the next tour because I really really want to go there. I don’t care if I get kicked out. I wanna see the magical stuff guys! (And maybe steal some of the wands.)

It’s an added plus if I can meet Puck and Sabrina (PUCKABRINA FTW!)

3. Sarah Dessen’s Books – Every single town mentioned

Sarah Dessen excels at making her settings amazing. They are small towns with well-drawn locations and I always want to visit the places! In Along For the Ride, I wanted to go to that beach town and shop at the boutique Auden worked at. In This Lullaby, I wanted to be BFFs with Remy and go touring with Dexter. In The Truth About Forever, I wanted to live in Macy’s house and ride around the town in the catering truck. All of her books make me want to take a trip to those towns (even if they are purely fictional ;;)

4. Every Soul a Star (Wendy Mass) – Moon Shadow

The majority of this book takes place in an isolated campground. And this isolated campground is beautiful. I usually HATE astronomy (it’s like my least favorite subject) but I make an exception for this book. If someone offered to take me to this campground, I’d take the offer in a heartbeat. I’d totally go there to stargaze and listen to Ally ramble on about the stars. Mass just describes the setting so well. She took a plain setting and turned it into something that was memorable.

5. When You Reach Me (Rebecca Stead) – NYC BABY!

I read this book back in 4th grade and I was hooked. This was my favorite book for a very long time because of the time-travel concept in it and the fact that Miranda referenced A Wrinkle In Time like a bajillion times. It’s like I connected to her because we were bookworms y’know? Anyways, the mystery in this novel and the descriptions of all of the settings make me wanna visit this specific neighborhood of New York City, at the time period it’s in (1980’s-ish btw). I would legit wanna visit Jimmy’s and the pizza place and the studio of the $20,000 Pyramid and her house and like everything in-between. Combine that with my love of NYC in general and…. yup I really want to go there.

6. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore (Robin Sloane) – His bookstore and Google’s headquarters

I love the concept of a mystery being hidden in the shop. The entire shop sounds simply amazing because of the great description of the shelves and desk. It sounds like my perfect place to go searching for an amazing book. Later on in the book, they go to Google’s headquarters and the description sounds like it would be really fun to just nose around all the fancy schmancy machines there.

7. The Cat Royal Series (Julia Golding) – 18th Century London

I thank one of my friends so much for introducing this series to me. I already loved Julia Golding but I had no idea that she had a historical fiction series.

This is set in London and Cat’s mischief and adventures in this town are some of the most charming things ever. I want to attend a play at the theatre and hang out with Cat and Pedro!

8. Al Capone at Alcatraz Series (Gennifer Choldenko) – Alcatraz in the 1930’s

I don’t think it’s supposed to be smart for me to want to go to Alcatraz when there are still prisoners on there…. but Moose and the other kids that lived there made their home seem like such a great place to explore! I might get beaten up by a criminal but hey, at least I can play a fun game of baseball and fail with the other kids!

And now for the ones that EVERYBODY wants to go to

9. Harry Potter Series (J.K. Rowling) – Hogwarts or Hogsmeade

Anybody who’s a Potterhead probably admit to dreaming of the day that they can go to Hogwarts. I don’t even care that there are so many steps to get places (we could all use it as our daily exercise requirement), I’d be bouncing off the walls if I could just shadow a student’s class there. The entire school just looks so antique and magical. I love it. If I can’t go to Hogwarts, I could go to Hogsmeade then. I wouldn’t be opposed to that either. BUTTAHBEEEERRRRR.

DOESN’T IT LOOK BEAUTIFUL?????

10. Percy Jackson Series/The Heroes of Olympus Series (Rick Riordan) – Camp Half-Blood/Camp Jupiter

I don’t even care if I can’t go in. It’s enough if I can just see the hill and Thalia’s tree (even if I’ll only end up seeing a strawberry farm ;__;). And for Camp Jupiter, I can look at the entrance in the Caldecott Tunnel. It would be nice if I could actually tour the camps. If the gods could make an exception for me…… well I wouldn’t be opposed to that. 😉


Where in books do you want to go?

Leave a Reply

