Stacking the Shelves [4]: The Secret Santa and Birthday Edition

Hello lovelies!

Today’s Stacking the Shelves post will include everything I’ve checked out and received since Thanksgiving break and the things I’ve gotten for my birthday.

I know that it’s supposed to be bookish stuff but it feels like I should do a “let’s share everything” post because oh my dear god I got way too many things this year.

I’ll admit, I was sort of inspired by PeruseProject‘s monthly Youtube video about things she had shopped for. It included anything that was not a book. I’m wondering if I should do it, but I feel like it would not communicate as well through words.

I’m dividing everything into three parts. Library, birthday books, and Secret Santa books.

The Library Books

Displaying 20141207_152219.jpg

In the Time of the Butterflies – Julia Alvarez (aka the book I wish I picked for my English summer reading book)

Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

Speak – Laurie Halse Anderson

Talon – Julie Kagawa (aka my 2nd attempt at reading her books)

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – Sherman Alexie, Ellen Forney (Illustrator)

GoneMichael Grant (My friend forced me to pick this one up

Birthday Books

Displaying 20141207_152340.jpg

Magickeepers – Erica Kirov (Fairly certain that this is a kid’s book but my friend threw this into the gift anyways XD I’ll probably read it and then give it to my brother)

Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta (I love this book. See my review here.)

Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo

Finnikin of the Rock – Melina Marchetta

I was also gifted a Barnes & Noble gift card.

What I Received from my Secret Santa

If you recall, I made a post in November about how I was joining the Broke and the Bookish’s annual Secret Santa. I received my package a few days ago and I was spoiled so so much.

My thanks to Emma of Akwordly Emma! She has made my first TBTB Secret Santa simply amazing!

I seriously should have taken a picture of the wrapped presents first. I may or may not have been so curious that I just ripped it all open.

Displaying 20141207_155700.jpg

But here’s the beautiful variety of wrapping paper she used!

It’s safe to say that I died and went to heaven when I opened some of the things she gave me. I was just so psyched about it.

She gave me three books, two of which were ARCs and a lot of knickknacks. I seriously need to find out where she bought all this stuff because some of it is really really cute.

Displaying 20141207_152425.jpgAn ARC of A Little Something Different – Sandy Hall

Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

An ARC of Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

I screamed when I saw the last two books.

Displaying 20141207_160350.jpgAccompanying these books were cute little notes that she wrote and pasted to each package.

In order, the first corresponds with Red Queen, the second with A Little Something Different (I see what she did there), and the last with Since You’ve Been Gone.

Displaying 20141207_152543.jpgThe other things she gave me were equally as amazing. I didn’t know how much I needed a Snitch bracelet until she gave me one. She also gave me a set of Hogwarts pins, three bookmarks, a dance charm, a tattoo from the book The Testing (which isn’t pictured because it’s somewhere in my desk and if I take it out, I’ll end up losing it), and a bag of Godiva dark chocolate (which isn’t pictured because it is downstairs and I’m far too lazy to go get it).

I find the card she got very appropriate because Ariel is front and center. This year, I’m doing a duo for speech all about the little mermaid. And I get to be Ariel. Maybe this is a sign that my partner and I will be successful!

Emma, thanks again! I really appreciate all of the thought you put into your gift!

2 comments

  1. Hi Kelly! I’m so glad you liked everything. I had so much fun shopping for you. I think I said that about 5 times in the card, lol. I got a lot of the little goodies off of Etsy, one from my local indie bookseller, and the tattoo is from an author event I went to.
    Btw, your pictures aren’t showing up on any of my devices. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

